Purchased _ / 7
MANSFIELD JCW7 SCHOOL SV-
Dafe Purchased . I&^lfjlhr. . . .
Number «vS . . . . O*
Condition of Boo!- -cUer
N — New
VG — Very Good F — Fair
1857 - 1957
George A. Retan, Ph. D.
Pictures Collected By-
Chester P. Bailey
THE COUNCIL OF MANSFIELD BOROUGH
Table Of Contents
Original Warrant Map 1
1857 Borough Map 2
I Introduction 3
II The First Quarter Century 7
III 1883 - 1892 11
IV 1893 - 1902 15
V 1903 - 1912 19
VI 1913 - 1929 21
VII 1930 - 1940 23
VIII 1941 - 1957 25
IX The Government 29
X Old Homes 33
XI Institutions and Businesses 35
XII The Automobile 45
XIII Some Organizations 47
With Pictures Throughout.
Copy Original Warrant Mop
Monsfieid and Surroundings
7 14 Acres
Michael M. O'Br/oiY
Dec /O, /793
M«p by M. L. Clark
Courtesy of Bvdd Clark
HE history of the first settlements
in what is now Mansfield has
been detailed in several other his-
tories. Since no other sources for
this period are available, it has been
deemed advisable not to repeat this mater-
ial in this history. The sources of the first
fourteen years of this history have been the
minutes of the Borough Council which are
complete for the full one hundred years.
Beginning with 1873, a date which is in-
correctly given as 1874 in some histories,
the files of the Mansfield Advertiser are
complete except from 1911 to 1929. The
files are again complete from 1930 to date.
The files of all the early years bear the
name of O. Newell and we owe him a great
debt for saving these papers and present-
ing them to the Library.
A contributor to the paper in 1887 relates
that in 1831 there were, in Mansfield, four-
teen dwelling kouses, a hotel, a school, a
saw mill, a wool carding mill, a tannery, a
shoemaker, a blacksmith shop, a wagon re-
pair shop and two stores, one near the four
corners, and one on South Main Street near
First Street. There were large pine stumps
on each side of Main and Sullivan Streets.
One copy of "The Balance," a paper pub-
lished in Mansfield in 1855, is owned by
Mrs. Margaret Knapp. This was an organ
of the "Good Templars" with I. M. Ruch-
man as editor. His wife was prominent in
the national organization and her contribu-
tions are about all that is in the paper.
There were no locals, but the following
people advertised in the paper: H. G. Mar-
tin, Drugs; Wm. Hollands. Harness Maker;
J. S. Hoard, Brick Yard; Amos Bixby, Plas-
ter, Paint and Lime. The personal cards
were: Henry Allen, Lawyer; C. V. Elliott,
Doctor; O. H. Phelps, Travellers' Home, a
In 1856, a year before the formation of
the Borough, a late contributor to the Ad-
vertiser mentions the following:
Three general stores; G. M. Bailey, L. C.
Holden, A. J. Ross; Drugs, Henry G. Mar-
tin; Harness Shop, Wm. Hollands; Tailor,
A. J. Howell; Wagon Maker and Undertak-
er, R. P. Buttles; Bibles and Testaments,
J. S. Hoard; Hotels, O. H. Phelps and the
Fuller House; Grist Mill, C. W. Bailey;
Blacksmith, Aaron Baldwin; Wagons,
Charles Hammond. The Doctors were J. P.
Morris, C. V. Elliott and Wm. M. Barden.
The Lawyers were Henry Allen and Wm.
Adams. J. P. Morris also had an Iron
Works. There were two churches, Baptist,
in its present location but a wooden build-
ing, and the Methodist in the building now
occupied by the Adventist Church. In 1855-
there had been a paper, THE BALANCE,
and later for a short period, THE MANS-
A map, apparently copied from the first
official map of the Borough, which had
been made in 1857, has been found by
Budd Clark. It seems to have been made
by M. L. Clark. It shows the Railroad Sta-
tion on the north side of West Elmira St.
On the west side of N. Main Street from
the corner were: H. Klas, Nesbit, C. V.
Elliott, alley, Buttles, shop, A. Baldwin,
H. Allen. On the east side were only Vor-
hees and Ross. Between Elmira Street and
Corey Creek were Barden, M. L. Clark, J.
B. Clark, H. Shuart, C. V. Elliott, B. M.
Bailey, Wm. Ingalls and R. Davis. On El-
mira Street were H. Lawrence, D. C. Spurs,
Lamb, Slingerland. L. Beach was where-
the Arts Building now is. On S. Main Street,
east side, were Hoard, Hollands and P.
Williams. Mart King was south of Corey
Creek on the west side. L. Holden was on
W. Wellsboro Street. L. Cummings was on
East Wellsboro Street.
On November 28, 1856, fifty-seven citizens
petitioned the Court to set up Mansfield as
a Borough. On Feb. 13, 1857, the Grand
Jury of the County certified that the con-
ditions demanded by the laws of the State
had been met and March 27th was set as
the date of the first election of Borough
Officers. The Grand Jury appointed A. J.
Ross, Judge of Elections and L. Beach and
S. B. Elliott as Inspectors of Election and
J. S. Hoard, Clerk. The election was held
at the home of O. H. Phelps. The following
officers were elected: Burgess, Henry Al-
len; Councilmen, Peter Gaylord, L. H. Elli-
ott, J. M. Casselle, H. Davis and Marcus
From the map of M. L. Clark, and from
the official map of 1875 which is still in
existence, and from the specified lines in
the Charter of Incorporation, the bounda-
ries of the original Borough can be rough-
ly determined. The southern line was a
little north of what is now First Street.
The northern boundary was a little north
of what is now Prospect Cemetery. The
■western boundary was the Tioga River to
near the mouth of Corey Creek, then east
to the railroad and along the railroad to
the north line. The eastern boundary was
approximately as at present.
The land comprised within the Borough
■was originally held by three estates: Asa
Mann, who purchased from John and Peter
Kelts; the J. P. Morris Estate, which pur-
chased the residue of the Mann lands sold
at Sheriff's sale; The Holden Estate. The
■original Mann lands are. roughly the busi-
ness section; the .1. 1'. Morris lands those
west of the Railroad and sumo lots in town;
and the Holden lands were those east and
south of the Mann Tract
The streets mentioned in the minutes of
the early meetings were: The Williamson
Road; Sullivan Street, east of the corners;
Wellsboro Street, west of the square; El-
mira Street and road; Church Street, now
Sherwood; and Seminary Street, now Acad-
emy. The present College Avenue is shown
on the map, but not named.
Much of the Borough, more than has ever
been settled, was at once laid out in lots.
Some of these old lot maps, probably copies
of the original, are in the possession of the
HOTEL ALLEN, around 1900
N. MAIN ST., Looking North From Wellsboro St., About 1907;
Barber Pole Was Reuben Dann's
N. MAIN ST., Looking South From Central St, About 1907
N. MAIN ST., 1866. C. V. Elliott's Drug Store, first brick store in County
WAGON SHOP on E. MAIN ST.; May have been that of
U. S. Snover, 1876
II. The First Quarter Century
1857 - 1882
1. The First Fifteen Years
HIS arbitrary division of the first
twenty-five years has been ny*.e
because, as was mentioned, ihe
files of the Mansfield Advertiser
begin in 1873.
The first important event, coming almost
as soon as the Borough was organized, was
the burning of the Mansfield Classical Sem-
inary in April. This building had been com-
pleted only in time for the current year
and was still unpaid for. Nevertheless,
plans were at once made for its rebuilding
and considerable sums of money were rais-
ed and pledged.
The first task confronting the new Coun-
cil was to raise money for Borough and
highway expenses. A levy was made of
1-2 cent on the dollar for Borough expenses
and lc for highways. The Borough levy
raised $54.22. The first ordinance was one
prohibiting horses, cattle, sheep, hogs and
geese from running loose in the streets. In
time a "Pound" was set up and a "Pound
Master" appointed. In the "Pound" were
placed all such animals held for their own-
ers who could get them on payment of a
set fee. Milch cows were exempted from
the provisions of this ordinance from sun-
rise to nine P. M., April 1st to December
In working out Borough Taxes a man re-
ceived one dollar for ten hours work, a man
and team $2.50, a yoke of oxen 75c. An
ordinance in 1862 prohibited the piling of
waste in the streets, hitching horses or
cattle to shade trees, shooting fire crackers
or guns, horse racing, and driving or lead-
ing horses or cattle on the sidewalks. Peo-
ple in those days were no better than in
the present as in 1860 Phelps and Lilly
were prosecuted for running a gambling
Many of the early ordinances and mo-
tions passed had to do with ordering side-
walks built or kept in repair. Frequently
the Borough had to do this and then collect
from the property owners. It was not until
1860 that any crosswalks were built by the
The Civil War brought financial troubles.
The Borough was authorized by state law
to pay a bounty to recruits. This was usu-
ally $100.00, but in 1864 five -ecruits re-
ceived $300.00 each. At first the money was
advanced by citizens who were given script
to be redeemed later. Special tax levies
were made; seven cents on the dollar in
1864; six cents in 1865 and 1866, and
$1500.00 in bonds were issued in 1865. The
seven cent levy raised over $1500.00.
Evidence that there was much building:
going on is found in the establishment of
new streets. Cherry Street, now Center
Street was opened. The name was later
changed after the building of the Grand
Central Hotel. Railroad Street, including
what is now East Main, was opened; the
present Extension Street was ordered open-
ed by the County Court and a bridge across
Corey Creek on this street was paid for
partly by the Borough and partly by public
subscription in 1870; a street called Pros-
pect Street, the present St. James Street,,
was authorized. In 1S68 E. P. Deane was
hired to lay out and establish the streets
and corners. This map does not seem to-
be in existence, but the map of 1875 prob-
ably followed the Deane map, as did the
various lot maps used in selling lots. In
1872 the new Methodist Church was built.
In 1870 the St. James Church was built on
a large lot donated by Dr. Morris. In a later
chapter are listed some of the houses built
at this time. In 1869 Mart King started his.
In 1872 a small-pox scare led the Council
to order all unvaccinated persons in the
Borough to be vaccinated and fixed the
charge at 20c per person. A pest house
was also provided in case of need — fortu-
An examination of the minutes discloses
that at each election there was an almost
complete turnover in all Borough offices.
Election was held annually in January until
1869. In 1869 and 1870 it was in October.
In 1872 it was in January and in 1873 in
February. Mart King was perhaps the most
persistent office holder in this period. He
was apt to be Secretary to the Council if
he was not Burgess. As Burgess he some-
times doubled as Secretary. Henry Allen
was one of the most persistent in present-
ing hills for services rendered, sometimes
a year or more late. Although the meet-
ings of the Council were held in homes or
offices, the Council at one time bought a
lamp, and at another time a set of chairs
for their use. Almost half the meetings
were adjourned for lack of a quorum. The
minutes do not give any clue to the fre-
quent changes; it would be interesting to
know what local issues were at stake.
2. The Next Decade
In 1873 the Mansfield Advertiser was
started by O. D. Goodenough, who had for-
merly had a paper in Towanda. There had
been papers here earlier, as previously men-
tioned, but the Advertiser has continued
with hut short interruptions to the present.
During this period the Editors were H. D.
Farnham, 1874; Pratt and Goodenough,
1875; Goodenough and Lewis, 1878; W. A.
Rowland for F. A. Allen and later for him-
This period was one of rapid growth for
the Borough in spite of the effects of the
panic of 1873, which are frequently referred
to. The Greenhouses which Mrs. S. B. Elli-
ott had started were taken over and twice
enlarged by Robert Crossley. In 1873 Pitts
Bros, built the block at the S. W. corner
of Main and Wellsboro Streets. The Sold-
iers Orphan School, which had been started
in 1867, was enlarged by a new building on
Wellsboro Street in 1873. The south end
of what is now the girls dormitory at the
College was built in 1874 at a cost of
$85,000.00. In all, 23 buildings were erected
in 1873. In 1874 T. H. Bailey built nine
houses on Brooklyn Street. In 1875 the
Presbyterian Church was built at a cost of
$1,350.00. The population in 1875 was 1,049
citizens and 349 students. In 1878 the Allen
Block, corner Main and E. Wellsboro Street
-was built. In 1880 the contract was let for
the new brick high school and Allen's Com-
mercial School building at No. 14 N. Main
Street. In 1882 the present Depot was built.
Also in 1882 a fire wiped out the wooden
stores from Center Street south for some
distance. As a result the Council estab-
lished a zone between Sherwood Street and
Railroad Street (E. Main) of 200 feet on
each side of the street within which only
brick structures could be built. The burned
section was rebuilt with brick stores in
This expansion created many problems
for the Council. Naturally the tax levy had
to be increased to 10 mills, five each for
Borough and highway. There was a con-
stant demand for more sidewalks and cross-
walks. In 1877 it was decided to erect street
lamps and to hire a man at 40c a night to
keep them lighted and in repair. As soon
as some were authorized more were de-
manded by the citizens. Evidently a few,
as one in front of the Baptist Church, had
been maintained privately. In 1877, there
were 22 in operation. In 1880 a bill for
$1.98 was presented to the Council for 13%
gallons of oil, soap, lampwicks, and three
boxes of matches. The next demand was
for a night watchman. In 1875 one was
authorized at 70c a night for the hours be-
tween ten P. M. and five A. M. This service
was irregular for years as the Council
would drop it, and then after a time re-
Another demand was for fire protection.
Twice fire inspectors were appointed to
examine all the chimneys in town and con-
demn those deemed dangerous. In 1876
buckets and ropes were bought and a cis-
tern dug near the four corners, probably
in front of the present diner. In 1880 a
Hook and Ladder truck was bought and a
Hose Company was organized with F. W.
Clark as President. These early Hose com-
panies emphasized the social side and had
annual parties which were the events of
The growth of the Borough was not only
in homes and business places, but also in a
considerable annexation of territory. In
1873 an ordinance was passed enlarging the
Borough to a size larger than at present,
especially on the northwest. Evidently this
was done without proper legal advice as
in 1874 an attempt was made to have the
State Legislature legalize it. This attempt
failed and finally, in 1875, the proper legal
conditions were fulfilled and on September
first the County Court approved the expan-
sion with the exception that the proposed
boundaries were cut down west of the river
and north of the present limits.
The land on the south was soon cut up
into building lots. James W. Morris mad*
the official map of the Borough. Kirst, S.-. -
ond and Third Streets were opemM and
St. James and Academy were extended to
Third Street. Brooklyn Street (Smokey
Row) was opened. The present Prospect
Street was so named when the citizens pre-
sented a petition objecting to the name Pov-
erty Hill by which it was then called. The
present Railroad Street was opened and an
Alley, now Hoard Street, was authorized
from Sullivan Street to Seminary Avenue
(1882, Normal Ave., now College Ave.).
Normal Street then is now Clinton Street.
Elm Street and Lincoln Avenue (7th and
8th Sts.) were opened on the J. H. Putnam
lands at the south end of the Borough,
known at different times as Englishtown
Much of the attention of the Council was
spent on keeping roads, bridges and side-
walks in repair. In 1878 the first stone
crosswalk from the Bank to the Pitts Block
was built. In 1879 there is mention of a
street sprinkler. In working out the road
tax, a common practice at that time, a man
received $1.25 a day and a man and team
$4.00. The first sewer was laid in 1880 from
the Soldiers Orphan School to near the
Depot and then across the lands of Cross-
ley and J. P. Morris to the river. Robert
Crossley built part of this of six-inch tile
and it was paid for partly by the parties
served. The claim was made that in 1877
Mansfield had the longest continuous
stretch of sidewalk (Main St.) in Tioga
County. Curbing and gutters of cobble
stone laid three feet wide were built on
Main Street in 1882 between Elmira Street
and the point where East Main Street be-
Dogs and drunks were a nuisance. In
1873 the vote was 244 to 13 in opposition to
a license to sell alcoholic drinks. In 1875
dogs had to be licensed at $1.00 each; 34
licenses were sold. An ordinance was pass-
ed against drunk and disorderly conduct,
carrying a fine of from one to ten dollars
and costs and confinement in the lock-up
up to forty-eight hours. A temperance or-
ganization, the Independent Order of Good
Templars was very active during much of
the decade. In 1879 the Independent Order
of Patrons of Temperance was started. The
paper has much comment on the visits of
eitizens to Tioga and Blossburg with des-
criptions of conduct and often with the
names of those involved. There was also a
good deal of complaint of the Fourth of
July celebrations and Fair Week.
Organizations of one type or another
were very popular. In addition to the Tem-
perance orders mentioned, and the Masons
from 1850, the G.A.R. was organized in 1875.
The Knights of Honor, an assessment and
benefit order was started in 1877. Literary
societies were formed, a public reading
room was maintained for several years, a
dramatic club put on plays to raise money
for various purposes, the Normal Atheneum
and the Normal Literary Clubs gave public
programs, or maintained lecture courses.
For short periods there was a musical Acad-
emy taught by D. J. Jewett, a German and
fencing school by Oscar Reishling, and a
private school by Mrs. M. J. Grey.
One of the most important events was
the organization of the Fair Association.
For some years Dr. Smythe's "Island" had
been used for picnics and reunions. It was
called an island because part of the river
ran on the east side of what is now the
park and the entrance was on the north
side. In 1877 a track for racing was built
and later in the year, June 27th, the Asso-
ciation was formed with Philip Williams
as President. By 1879, money had been
raised, the "island" was acquired and an
effort was made to get the County Agricul-
tural Association, which held exhibitions
at Wellsboro, to join. This was naturally
unsuccessful. A building to hold exhibits,
a dining hall, 400 stalls for stock, and a
railroad switch were built. The first Fair,
October 1, 2, 3, was a great success. Sixteen
carloads of stock came from New York
State. Five thousand people attended on
October 2nd. Meals cost 25c. Premiums ran
from 50c to $5.00. During 1880 the women
of Mansfield raised $520.00 toward the
$1,150.00 needed for the Women's Pavilion.
That year the receipts were $2,500.00. In
1881 nine thousand tickets were sold on
October 12th. Thursday was formerly the
big day, Friday the last day. The railroad
ran excursions from all parts of the County
and from Corning and Elmira.
During this period there were very severe
epidemics of Scarlet Fever and Diptheria,
not only in Mansfield, but all through the
County. Frequently two or three children
in the same family died within a few days.
The Doctors seemed to be helpless to stop
the spread of the diseases.
There were, in the ten years, many
changes in the ownership of businesses.
The Tannery, Iron Works, Grist Mill, and
Mart King's Furniture Factory were im-
portant industries. The Doane Sash and
Blind Factory had started. Men in business
for most of the period, or .all, were: O. V.
Elliott, shoes, at 54 N. Main Street; Wm.
Hollands, leather goods; Ross and Wil-
liams Bank; F. M. Spencer, Photograph
Gallery; Pitts Bros., general store; R. E.
Olney, jeweler; J. S. Murdaugh, dry goods;
N. Kingsley, shoes; Allen Peterson, barber;
C. V. Elliott, drugs; L. A. Ridgway, drugs;
A. J. Cole, drugs; L. Cummings, restaur-
ant; D. A. Gaylord, blacksmith; R. P. But-
tles, wagon shop; T. F. Rolason, groceries
first and then undertaking and furniture;
J. F. Howe, coal.
There were now five churches in town,
the Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian, Epis-
copal and the Universalist congregation
which had bought the old Methodist Church.
There were seven doctors: C. V. Elliott,
C. W. Brown, Wm. M. Barden, J. P. Morris,
A. J. Cole, H. G. Smythe, Benj. Moody in
1877. Dr. O. Newell was a Dentist
Henry Allen, J. W. Adams and F. W.
Clark were lawyers.
t3 a* ■ JE*! f
rr.vr ■, — ?t —
w. : 4sJ- ■ " -
V ■- *. .. r-M."*
"""" ■-■*"'■'* B^ " 9a, '- ■---■'-*- *.-^
NORMAL AVENUE, 1900
GASOLINE DRIVEN PASSENGER and MAIL TRAIN
"THE DOODLEBUG", 1935
III. 1883 to 1892
URING this period the Advertiser
was published by W. A. Rowlands
until May, 1885, when Frank E.
VanKeuren bought it. Shortly
afterwards, S. E. Coles was associated with
Mr. VanKeuren, and this partnership lasted
for many years.
This decade was notable for much build-
ing, both in the residence and business sec-
tions of the town. The Advertiser of Sept.
17, 1884 remarks that Mansfield industries
furnish the brick, the ironwork, the cas-
ings for the windows as well as the lumber
for all the building. The brick buildings
at the corner of Center Street and Main
Street, formerly four stores, were finished
in 1884. Also in this year there was an ad-
dition to the Soldiers Orphan School, now
28 W. Wellsboro Street. Alumni Hall at
the Normal School, O. Elliott's Shoe Store,
54 N. Main Street, the Episcopal Chapel
and sixteen new houses were built the
same year. In 1885, the Kingsley Shoe
Store, 21 N. Main Street and a new bridge
over the river were finished. In 1886, the
Kohler Hardware, 15 W. Wellsboro Street;
In 1888 the Baptist Church, the Normal
Gym, the Opera House and the old Bor-
ough Building were either started or fin-
ished. In 1889 South Hall at the Normal
was enlarged and an addition built to the
Adams Block, 24-30 N. Main Street.
This was the period in which agitation
finally brought about the beginnings of fire
protection, water supply and sewage dis-
posal. A second Hose Company, the Nep-
tune, was formed and the Council bought
another engine and 300 feet of hose. Two
cisterns on Main Street were connected up
in such a way that the hose companies
could use the water. More buckets were
bought and with the completion of the Bor-
ough Building suitable space was available
for the engines and hose, and an alarm
bell was installed. Several studies were
made of possible sources of water supply
by engineers and councilmen. By the end
of 1892 final action was almost at hand. A
community owned system was believed out
of the question because the assessed value
of the Borough would not permit a bond
issue of $45,000.00. A sewer was built, 1891,
on Academy Street from in front of the
Boys Building to Sullivan Street, down that
street to Main Street, north on Main to
Elmira Street, and then west to the river.
The Normal School trustees contributed
$2,000.00 as its share and the remainder of
the cost was paid by the Borough. In 1892
an addition was built on St. James Street
from a point 125 feet south of Normal Ave-
nue to Sullivan. Trouble on First Street
and on Extension Street was met by partial
sewers and open ditches.
The agitation for a water system was
helped by the bad fires of the period. In
1884 several stores on S. Main Street south
of the Pitts Block burned and the Mart
King Furniture Factory was totally des-
troyed. In 1885 stores on Wellsboro Street
west of the Pitts Block burned. In 1889 the
Grand Central Hotel burned and several
guests had narrow escapes from death. This
hotel, one of the best in the county, was
1889 was the year of the celebrated flood,
which did much damage in Mansfield. The
Park was a lake and many houses in the
southern part of town had water in the
first floor. The new Iron Bridge over the
river was washed out, but not the Corey
Creek bridge. There were other floods in
1889 and 1890 which took out the tempor-
ary bridge over the river and the new abut-
ments and again flooded the park. In 1891
a new bridge over Corey Creek at Main
Street was built.
Some new streets were opened: Clinton
Street, Academy from Elmira to Prospect,
and Elm and Clark Streets which have been
replaced by numbered streets. Doublin
Street is now a part of Brooklyn Street;
Wilson Avenue was named for James Wil-
son, who once owned considerable land in
town. The Hollow Road, now No. 6, ran
south from the river bridge to Ellen Run
and then west along the run. Sassafras
Alley was extended from Center Street to
Mention was made of the new buildings
at the Normal. In addition to these, the
Alumni Hall bell was bought and placed in
the Tower in 1886 at a cost of $700.00. Dr.
Thomas was principal until 1892 when Dr.
Albro was hired. It has not been previous-
ly noted by any historian that the old Gym
was built partly with State Aid obtained
because of the demands of the "Normal
Guards." This organization was trained by
Prof. Longstreet. It had muskets and uni-
forms, a sort of unofficial R.O.T.C., and the
Gym was considered by the State as an
Armory and one end was fitted up for the
Street lighting was a problem. Kerosene,
Gasoline and Vapor lights were tried. From
80c to $1.00 a night was paid for care and
lighting. With the expansion of building
more lights were demanded by the citizens.
The Opera House was built east of the
Borough Building and at the same time,
with one wall in common, by the Hook and
Ladder Company No. 1. This company for-
merly had social rooms over Kingsley's
Store. It was very active socially and had
an annual winter dinner and ball, to which
many out of town guests came. Dinner was
served at the Grand Central Hotel. When
finished, the Opera House was used for
dances, roller skating, home talent plays,
and travelling play companies. In the front
were small stores or offices. A fair held
shortly after its completion, raised a con-
siderable sum for the company.
For many years the main concern of the
Council was for taxes and sidewalks. In
1884 the Court allowed a special levy of
five mills to pay the debts ot the Borough.
Again in 1888, five mills was levied to pay
off the bonds issued for building the Bor-
ough Building. Many ordinances were
passed ordering sidewalks to be built and
the Constable was frequently authorized
to notify residents that if their walks were
not repaired the Borough would do it and
charge the expanse to the property owner.
Ordinances were again passed about a
Pound for stray animals, hitching to a
lamp post, riding bicycles on sidewalks,
dumping refuse in the streets, drunkenness,
firecrackers and playing ball in the street.
In the new Borough Building there were
placed iron cages for the confinement of
any persons arrested in the Borough. At
that time they were the best in the county
and were used until 1956 when they were
remove* to the new Borough Building.
During this decade a cigar factory was
started at the corner of Elmira and N. Main
Streets, but was soon moved to S. Main
Street. This was a flourishing business for
many years. In 1886 it was stated that
three million cigars were so d and about
$700.00 a week was paid out in wages. In
1892 a glove factory was bought and moved
here; the Paisley Shawl factory was locat-
ed in newly erected buildings at English-
town (8th Street). The Novelty Works at
Monroeton were purchased. These indus-
tries were secured by a newly organized
Board of Trade which raised considerable
capital from local residents. A. B. Welch
installed a laundry on Elmira Street and
Tomlinson took over the foundry on East
Main Street. The history of these busi-
nesses is given in a later section.
The Mansfield Fair Association bought
more land on the south and northeast sides
of the Park, built a grandstand, a third mile
track, more exhibition buildings and held
each year a very successful fair. The at-
tendance on Thursdays, the big day, was
often estimated at from twenty to forty
thousand. On one day over 1200 tickets
were sold on the train coming from Bloss-
burg. In 1892, electric lights were installed
and a football game played in the evening.
A brick yard was started at Fifth and
St. James Streets, but later moved north of
Corey Creek and west of Extension Street.
It was run by Barton and French and later
by M. S. French alone. This yard turned
out millions of bricks which were used in
construction at the Normal, the Baptist
Church, and stores in Mansfield and other
towns where Mr. French had building con-
A band was organized by B. A. Strait
and the community raised money for uni-
forms and instruments in 1891. Andrew
Sherwood opened up the land south ®f Hope
Cemetery and sold lots in 1887 (Now Pros-
pect Cmetery). In 1889 the Oakwood Cem-
etery Association was formed and opened
up Oakwood Cemetery and the first inter-
ment was made in 1891. Also, beginning
in 1891, and for several years, the Post-
office put up flags indicating the weather
prediction. A Liberty Pole, carrying the
U. S. Flag, was maintained at the corner
of Main and Wellsboro Streets.
The Lawyers of the period were: J. W.
Adams, F. W. Clark, B. J. Costley.
The Doctors were: J. M. Barden, W. D.
Vedder, F. G. Elliott, C. V. Elliott.
The Dentist was O. Newell.
Transportation: Stages to Troy and ta
Wellsboro; two passenger trains a day to
Elmira and Arnot.
MANSFIELD FAIR, before THE AUTOMOBILE CAME
MANSFIELD FAIR, STOCK EXHIBIT
MANSFIELD FAIR, FARM EQUIPMENT
:■'■■:-:-.. .■ :
GRANDSTAND, SMYTHE PARK
MANSFIELD FAIR, LADIES PAVILION
MVNSFI'.LD FAIR, MAIN BUILDING
IV. 1893 to 1902
HIS was the decade in which
Mansfield Borough became mod-
ernized. On May 8, 1893 the con-
tract was signed with the Watres
family for a water supply. The lines were
to be completed in September, but due to
delays in crossing the river, the water was
not available for about a month afterward.
The sewer system was gradually extended
following a map made by engineers in 1894.
In 1895 a franchise was granted for a tele-
phone line which went to Wellsboro and
there was one phone in town, at the Hotel
Allen. In 1896 a franchise was granted to
the New York and Pennsylvania Telephone
Company, the Bell System, and this com-
pany bought out the Wellsboro line. In the
next few years several rural lines were
organized along the roads out of town, lat-
er combining to form the Citizens Tele-
phone Company which continued to 1952.
In 1896 a franchise was granted to a con-
cern to put in an electric light system but
was not used. In 1897 this franchise was
transferred to the Mansfield Electric Light
Company and many homes and the State
Normal School installed electric lights. The
Borough itself did not sign a contract for
street lighting until 1902. The lights were
turned on December 24th.
Eighth Street was legally opened but there
was some confusion in the names of what
are now seventh and eighth streets and
what would be fifth and sixth streets. The
old names, Lincoln Avenue and Elm Street
as given on the old Putnam Map, were oft-
The installation of a sewer system was
perhaps the worst problem the Borough
Council had to consider, both because of
the expense, and because of the lack of
natural drainage in the southern part of
the town. The Council finally decided to
spread the expense over several years and
to put in the sewers on Elmira, Sherwood
and North Academy Streets first. An over-
flow sewer was put in from the junction of
Elmira Street and North Main Street, to
Corey Creek in 1897. In 1898 a trunk sewer
was built from the river through Smythe
Park across Main Street to St. James Street
with secondary sewers on St. James, First,
Second, and East Main Streets. In 1899 a
sewer was laid up South Main Street to
Fourth Street. In 1902 a storm sewer was
laid under Main Street north of the Park
entrance. Bonds in the amount of $5,000.00
were issued in 1899 and considerable sums
were borrowed from time to time to cover
this and other expenses.
.Until the installation of electric street
lights the oil lamps were cared for by a
man who was also janitor of the Borough
Building. He received $35.00 a month and
feed for his horse. His horse and wagon
carrying oil, ladder and cleaning apparatus
was a familiar sight in the village.
The night watchman was paid about the
same and one-half the amount was paid by
the merchants. The Borough purchased a
clock for $37.50 which he had to carry and
by which he could be checked.
The water system made a much better
system of fire protection possible. The
Council purchased a hose cart and 1200
feet of hose at once and from time to time
bought nozzles and other supplies for the
hose companies. A fire alarm bell (still
there) was placed over the Borough Build-
ing, costing $500.00. After the telephone
lines were installed connection was made
so that the bell could be rung from the
central office. A tower for drying hose was
built at a cost of $102.00 and is still in use.
One hose company, the Neptune, disbanded,
but the other two maintained their organ-
izations and joined in electing a Chief to
have complete control in case of fire. There
was much competition between the two
companies as to which one would have the
first hose laid. Frequent meets were held
with other towns in Tioga and Bradford
Counties in which the Mansfield companies
made an excellent showing. Hook and Lad-
der Company No. 1 continued to hold an-
nual parties in the Opera House, considered
the outstanding social event of the year.
The floods of December 18, 1901 did con-
siderable damage, especially along Corey
Creek. The bridge erected on Academy
Street in 1894 was washed out and a new
one built in 1902. The Erie Railroad was
requested to enlarge its bridge over the
creek to prevent damage by backwater.
The bridge over Ellen Run on the Hollow
Road was also washed out and had to be
replaced and the road repaired.
The Council continued to have much
trouble making citizens keep their walks in
repair. They were more careful than ever
about this after paying $200.00 to a woman
who was injured on an icy walk. In 1893
Bentley and Curtis laid the first cement
walk in the Borough around the Ross prop-
erty, corner Academy and Normal Avenue.
In accordance with a new State law a
Board of Health was set up. The Borough
was divided into five sections and a mem-
ber appointed by the Burgess, ratified by
the Council, for each section. Dr. Went-
worth Vedder was very active on this board
for several years.
The Mansfield Fair continued to be very
successful and the buildings and grounds
were greatly improved. In 1900 the track
was enlarged to a full half mile and the
ball grounds were moved to its present lo-
cation and in 1902 new grandstands built
(the ball grounds were originally on the
west side of the park with the home plate
at the south end). The present gateway was
built in 1893. In only one year of the ten
was the weather bad. Thursday was the
big day and the attendance reached over
20,000 persons. Excursion trains were still
run from all sections of the county and
from Corning and Elmira.
It was in this decade that the triangle
where Sullivan Street intersects Academy
Street was improved and a Cannon with
large cannon balls at its side was mounted
on a concrete foundation. This was a fix-
ture until the old cannon was used for
scrap metal in World War II and the pres-
ent cannon replaced it. The Borough Lib-
erty Pole was maintained on the square;
in 1899 a new flag was bought at a cost
of $30.00 and in 1901 the pole was moved
to the triangle.
In 1899 Dr. Albro resigned as Principal
of the State Normal and Dr. Andrew Thom-
as Smith was elected to the position by the
Board of Trustees. In 1895, on Arbor Day,
a considerable number of trees were plant-
ed on the hill back of the school. In 1900
an addition furnishing toilet facilities for
the boys was built at the back of South
Hall. In 1894 the central portion of North
Hall was rebuilt and an elevator installed.
If the previous decade was notable for
roller skating, this one was for bicycling.
The traffic problem on the sidewalks was
so bad that ordinances were passed requir-
ing licenses to ride on the sidewalks and
forbidding riding on the walks after the
electric lights were on. Some of the most
prominent citizens were arrested for violat-
ing this ordinance. Since the only lights
were in the houses, a standard excuse was
that the rider did not know they had been
turned on. There were bicycle clubs mak-
ing long trips, as to Buffalo or New York
City. A state law was passed making it
possible for counties to build bicycle paths
alongside the roads. There was one along
the river between Lambs Creek and Mill
Creek to avoid the hill. As mentioned un-
der "Businesses", there was for many years
a bicycle repair shop in town.
In the same way the livery business was
very important in this period. There were
two livery stables in town, one back of the
Adams Block and one which was where the
rear of Johnson's Truck Lines and the At-
lantic and Pacific Store are. A part of this
stable now forms a part of these buildings.
There was a stage line to Troy and two to
Wellsboro, following different routes.
Hitching sheds were maintained for the
farmers on Center Street and on Sassafras
Alley. The livery business was at an end
soon after Ed Ross brought the first auto-
mobile to town and the stages were discon-
tinued after the establishment of R.F.D.
routes as there was no contract to be had
for carrying mails to small rural postoffices.
During this period many homes were
built. Also the Presbyterian Church was
enlarged by an addition at the rear. Bert
Vedder started to build a large factory on
W. Elmira Street for canning pickles, but
laws were passed, at the instance of the
Heinz concern, which put him out of busi-
ness and hurt many producers of cucum-
bers in this section.
High School Principals in this period
were: G. B. Strait, 1893; Hugh Sherwood,
1895; J. C. Doane, 1899; A. S. Lent, 1900;
E. A. Retan, 1901.
Lawyers were: Frank Clark, Leon Chan-
nell came in 1895; Costley left in 1894.
Doctors were: C. V. Elliott (retired),
Moody, F. G. Elliott, F. G. Wood after 1895
and Edith Flower (Wheeler) after 1899.
Dentists: J. E. Williamson after 1899;
H. W. Bailey in 1900; O. Newell.
OPERA HOUSE AND BOROUGH BUILDING BUILT IN 1888; NOTE WATERING
TROUGH GIVEN BY MR. BUTTS
STRAUGHN HALL, 1929
OAKWOOD DAM, CANOE CAMr
CHURCH OF CHRIST (DISCIPLES) CANOE CAMP
■ ■. ,
V. 1903 to 1912
NE of the most important meas-
ures passed by the Council in this
decade was that of Dec. 24, 1906,
in which it was agreed that the
Borough would pay 25% of the cost of lay-
ing cement sidewalks on private lots if the
walks were built according to the specifica-
tions set forth in the ordinance. Provision
was made for inspection. As a result of this
far-sighted ordinance, sidewalk building
went on very rapidly for several years, es-
pecially in 1910 when many crosswalks
were also laid by the Borough. Curbs were
built on N. Main to Sherwood and gutters
on S. Main from the square to near Normal
Avenue. The staples in the curbing for
hitching horses were ordered removed in
In 1909 an ordinance was passed legaliz-
ing the names of the streets of the Bor-
ough. The only changes, or new streets
from those previousl. >poned were: Novel-
ty Place, Main street to ine electric plant;
Decker Street, N. Main to the foot of Pickle
Hill; Coles Street, formerly N. Sullivar
Street; Corey Street, N. Main to the con-
densary; Clinton Street to be opened to
Fourth Street, and numbers four to eight
given to streets that had been called by
various names over the years, such as Elm,
Lincoln Avenue, J. S. Hoard was authorized
to number the houses and lots on the
streets and these numbers were to be offi-
cial. Leach Alley, from W. Wellsboro, back
of the Shepard Store, 90 feet north, and
then west to Sassafras Alley was laid out.
Beginning in 1908 the movement to take
care of the cemetery on N. Main Street,
called Hope Cemetery at this time, was
under way. This cemetery consisted of
three parts: the old part owned by the
Township originally, Hope Cemetery prop-
er, and the Sherwood addition. The Coun-
cil agreed to give the Association any land
owned by the Borough, the old Township
portion, and this was done in 1909 after
Prospect Cemetery Association had been
formed. In 1903 the Souncil had paid for
laying water pipes into the Cemetery, the
water being donated by the Water Com-
pany. The Council also paid for cleaning
up the old Township section.
There was the usual concern with the
sewers and with washing by Corey Creek.
In 1903 an overflow sewer was run under
the railroad into the Park, after an agree-
ment was made with the Park Association
to protect them, and this proved successful
for some time. The sewer on Extension.
Street caused trouble due to the old tan-
nery race. The River Road was protected
by wnarfing in 1904 and wing dams were-
built on Corey Creek at Extension Street
and Academy Street. In 1911 the bridge-
over Corey Creek at Extension Street was
made a County Bridge. Fourth Street was
surveyed for a sewer in 1907. In 1908 the-
Elmira Street sewer was extended 200 feet
beyond Extension Street. In 1913 the resi-
dents on Elmira, Academy, St. James and
Main Streets were ordered to do away with
outhouses and connect with the sewer sys-
tem, if not already connected. The water
system was extended' to the bridge leading:
to the Newtown Road and on Coles Street.
The Fire Companies previously active-
had become dormant. Harry B. Taylor and!
Ray Longbothum were active in getting;
help from the Council in restoring interest.
500 feet of hose was bought in 1904; the-
company was reorganized in 1906 and has
been active ever since. Their New Year's
parties, stag, during this period, were very
popular. On Dec. 23, 1908 the Old Hook and
Ladder Company had a reunion.
In 1908 D. J. Butts donated a water foun-
tain for watering horses, placed first at
N. W. corner of the square but afterwards
moved to E. Wellsboro Street opposite the
The Methodist Church in 1908, gave the
triangle at Sullivan and Academy Streets
to the Borough, and in 1924 the Borough
deeded it to the Normal School.
In 1909 an anti-spitting ordinance was
passed but the Council bought six cuspidors
for the Council room. In 1908 a dog muzzl-
ing ordinance was passed. In 1911 and in
1912 Municipal House Cleaning Days were
observed. The ordinance requiring bonds
for bicycle riders was still enforced. In 1905
the G.A.R. was granted $21.00 to employ
"an eloquent and distinguished speaker for
Memorial Day." In 1908 the Borough Build-
ing was considerably repaired with steel
ceiling and new decorations.
The extensions of the R.F.D. in 1903 and
1904 caused the abandonment of the stages
which had run to Wellsboro and Troy.
The Citizens Telephone Company was
greatly extended, and completed a long dis-
tance connection with the Bell System.
Beginning in 1907 R. W. Allen had a bus-
iness school in the Shepard Block for a
number of years.
About 1908 Mansfield residents started a
"Summer Colony" at Oakwood. This was
on the west side of the river at Canoe Camp
along the old mill race, and the dam for
the race had provided a good swimming
hole. An ice house built here was one of
the main sources of ice for Mansfield for
many years. Some of the old cottages are
A new street sprinkler was bought in
In 1909 stock was being sold for a com-
pany to build a trolley line to Wellsboro.
This was agitated for a few years, but the
advent of the automobile at a reasonable
price made it impractical.
The Fair Association bought more land
north of the former grounds in 1910 and in
1911 built a 100-foot addition to the grand-
stand. During this decade the Fair was
very successful, with the attendance fre-
quently running to 20,000 or more on Thurs-
The Physicians during this period were:
Dr. C. V. Elliott to 1904; F. G. Wood, F. G.
Elliott, B. Moody, W. D. Vedder and Dr.
The Dentists were: Harry Bailey to 1903;
Oramel Newell to 1909; A. W. Edstrom, S.
Dr. Whiting was the Veterinary Surgeon.
Lawyers: Harvey Leach, Frank Clark.
ALUMNI HALL, 1885
VI. 1913 to 1929
HIS period of almost seventeen
years is one for which there were
available no sources of informa-
tion eAcept the minutes of the
Council and some scattered papers. For
some years only one paper was found. This
is most unfortunate for it includes the years
of World War I. During that time we know
that the citizens were engaged in many
patriotic activities. Organizations of "Min-
ute Men" went out selling war bonds. The
record on the wall at Strait's Hardware
shows the contribution made by the com-
munity in terms of man power. Many of our
present citizens spent considerable time in
the trenches in France. The Austin-Cox
Post of the American Legion, in its name,
bears tribute to two who paid the supreme
Much of the history of the period has to
do with the changes brought about by the
coming of the automobile. Two of these.
the paving of streets and the building of
garages are so prominent that they have
been treated separately in order to carry
the story right down to the present.
In 1920 the President's Mansion at the
College was built, in 1925-26 the new Pres-
byterian Church was built, and in 1917 the
Holy Child Church was erected.
In 1919 the Council purchased a chemical
engine for $500.00 and a second hand scrap-
er for work on unimproved streets. In 1926
a grader was bought. The tax rate during
part of this period was 10 mills for general
purposes and four mills for sinking funds,
but was increased to fourteen mills and
four mills to meet the increased cost of the
paving. Ransom Bryant was night watch
for most of the time at a salary of $20.00
per month. Ordinances were passed for a
curfew in 1919; against dumping rubbish
on the streets and driving on the sidewalks
in 1924, and prohibiting fireworks in 1928.
In 1924 the Girl Scouts organized their
first troop in Mansfield. In 1925 the Amer-
ican Legion installed the Boulevard Lights
at the square. In 1928 the markers and
plates at the Borough limits on No. 6 and
15 were erected by the combined Womens'
Clubs. In 1927 it was agreed with the Alum-
ni of the old Soldiers' Orphans School that
they might erect a marker in memory of
Fordyce A. Allen at the N. W. corner on
In the fall of 1926 a Community Bazaar
to raise money with which to buy a fire
engine was held. This was truly a commu-
nity effort extending over most of a week,
centering in the Grange Hall, and was very
successful. In connection with the fire si-
ren which had been purchased by the Coun-
cil in 1922 and which was blown at noon
from Palmer's Jewelry Store, as well as
for fires, much better fire protection was
provided for the community.
Two other community efforts are worthy
of notice. At this time, of course, there
were not available State Welfare Services,
nor County Nurses, and other services now
provided for the County. In 1926 there was
organized the Mansfield Welfare Associa-
tion and in 1924 the Community Nurse
Association. Both were supported at this
time by annual drives made throughout the
community. The Welfare Association has
continued to this time though there is less
demand for its services now than in the
past. The Community Nurse at first gave
half her time to the schools and half to
any needy cases in the town. Her work was
partly supported by the School Board, and
later partly by the College also. In 1950
she became a school nurse giving all her
time to the children in the schools and paid
by the college and the school board.
The Physicians during this period were:
H. C. Harkness, L. J. Neal, F. G. Wood to
1916; J. H. Doane from about 1918; F. G.
The Dentists were A. W. Edstrom to
1927; Robert DeWaters from 1927; J. E.
Williamson and Adolph Schlappi.
The Lawyers were: Frank W. Clark,
Harvey Leach, and for a few years, Donald
SOUTH HALL, 1895
MUNICIPAL WATER AUTHORITY
Standing, L-R: Raymond Van Noy, King G. Rose, Charles H. Curtis, Supt;
Seated: Gerald C. Schanbacher, Oscar M. Lutes, Howard S. Davis.
VII. 1930 to 1940
HIS decade, although it was the
period of the "Great Depression,"
was one in which great changes
and many improvements took
place in Mansfield. By 1930 a franchise had
been granted by the Council and Natural
Gas was brought into town. Straughn Hall,
at the College, was completed. Due to ef-
forts from 1930-34 an appropriation of
$45,000.00 was secured for an Armory Build-
ing and it was built in 1936. The new Shop
Building at the College was constructed.
In 1934 a new Vocational Building was built
at the High School and in 1938-39 the new
Senior High School was built. A. H. Vos-
burg was of great help in securing money
and watching the development of this pro-
ject. A bond issue of $42,500.00 was voted
in 1937 for this purpose. In 1938 the con-
tract was let for three new buildings at
the College; Gymnasium, Elementary
School, Arts Building.
Mansfield shared more than most com-
munities in the development of through bus
lines, connecting the community more di-
rectly with the outside world than was the
case in the days of the railroad passenger
service. In 1929 the "Great Eastern Stages"
later the "Greyhound", a New York to Chi-
cago line, started. There was also a line
from Blossburg to Elmira and Corning,
which later ran from Williamsport and now
from Washington to Rochester and Buffalo.
For some years the Martz lines also ran
from New York west.
In connection with the Works Progress
Administration and that of the so-called
"Alphabetical Agencies" of the depression
period, the Borough built, in 1934-35, a sew-
er on the north side of Corey Creek from
Extension Street to the river with spurs
on N. Academy and Main Streets. Altogeth-
er 4,900 feet were laid for which the Bor-
ough appropriated only $600.00. Also, in the
same way, a great deal of work on the
streets was done.
In 1937 a movement begun by the worn-
ens' clubs culminated in the formation of
a Community Chest to concentrate the giv-
ing of the citizens into one "drive" instead
of the five which had been going on each
year. All the organizations interested co-
operated and a board was set up consisting
of representatives of the business men, the
schools, the welfare organizations, and the
In 1936 the Business Men's Association
sponsored a Halloween party for the chil-
dren of the community. This was very suc-
cessful and has become an annual affair.
In 1939 skunks came to be such a nuis-
ance in the Borough that the Council hired
a man to trap them. His work was so suc-
cessful that there has been no complaint
In 1929 the name "College" was substi-
tuted for "Normal" in names of streets. In
1933 the short street between highway six
in its new location, and Brooklyn Street,
was named Ross Street; Meadow Street
was extended to Corey Creek as had been
originally intended. The Borough acquired
a flushing truck and equipment and a new
truck for street work. Ordinances were
again passed to require sewer connections
and to eliminate outside toilets (1931) ; to
regulate excavations in paved streets; re-
quiring proper pasteurization of all milk
sold in the Borough (1932), regulating
building by granting permits (1937).
Since the Borough was $6,500.00 in debt
in 1930, the bonds authorized in 1924 and
never issued, were sold.
In 1936 the Rural Electrification Agency
started a Mansfield office and to extend
electric lines from the town out into the
The Doctors in the period were: Hughes
Meaker, John Doane, L. J. Neal, I. R. Vin-
cent^ D. W. Crittenden from 1937; J. J.
Moore from 1939.
The Dentists were: Adolph Schlappi,
Robert De Waters to 1932; J. E. Williamson,
Joseph Jaquish, 1932-34; J. J. McMillan,
Veterinarian: R. J. Lynch.
Si '-, $ li
■ '2JH 8*^31
OLD HIGH SCHOOL, BUILT 1880
MANSFIELD HIGH SCHOOL, 1939
VIII. 1941 to 1957
HE history of the last sixteen
years is familiar to most of us.
However, the historian of the fu-
ture, and the generation now
classed as "children" will some day want
to know what took place in this psriod.
First in importance was World War II.
Mansfield not only contributed more than
its share of manpower, but eo.it ibuted
more than its quota in every War Bo'.d
Sale, Red Cross, or U.S.O. drive. During the
years 1942-46 a Service Center was kept
open in the southern half of the BaM*
Block. It was supported and staffed by the
citizens. Service men caught between
buses, or hitch hiking, could find a bed, or
refreshments. The Red Cross Rooms were
active with women sewing for hospitals.
The local Ambulance Company was one of
the early units over-seas. At one time it
was located near Mansfield, England and
the children of the Mansfield, Ba., schools
sent seven large cartons of toys and gifts
to the children of Mansfield, England. After
the war Mansfield, England, sent a gift of
music books to our school.
The Memorial Swimming Bool is a sym-
bol of the gratitude of the community for
the sacrifice of its youth. Built in 1949 at
a cost of $40,000 in money, work furnished
and materials donated, it will long remain
a monument to the veterans of the two
World Wars. Its history is fully set forth
in a publication, "Mansfield Memorial
During this period the Council carried
out many improvements in the Borough.
One of the most useful is the new Borough
Building just west of the river on Wells-
boro Street. Built in 1951, it provides a
modern office for the meetings of the Coun-
cil, as well as a garage and workshop for
the Borough Trucks and the men employed.
The Council purchased a dump truck in
1950, a tractor and loader in 1948, and new
fire pumpers in 1946 and 1956. With the
loader and truck it is possible for the
streets to be speedily cleaned after a heavy
All the streets not under the control of
the State Highway Department have been
resurfaced in this period. In 1946 the state
repaved N. "Main Street from Prospeet
Street to the Borough limits. In 1945 Wells-
boro and Sullivan Streets were resurfaced.
Many new sewers were laid; a four-foot
sewer from E. Main under the railroad in
1943; in connection with the State, a sewer
from College Blace to Corey Creek in 1952;
a sewer from Brospect Street to the Bor-
ough limits in 1953; one on Fourth Street,
in 1952. In 1946, in response to demand of
the State, engineers were employed to
draw up plans for a sewage disposal plant.
Two new bridges were built over Ellen
Run, one at Brooklyn Street in 1951 and
one on the Hollow Road in 1955.
In 1942 the Council set up a Municipal
Authority through which the Council could
authorize the purchase of the Water Sys-
tem ,and in 1943 the purchase was consum-
ated. By this act the Council has made it
possible to utilize the profits from the sys-
tem for improvements. Much has been done
to this end; reforestation of the water
shed, introduction of Fluoridation, improve-
ment of the dams, and replacing worn out
mains. Herbert Peterson and Oscar Lutes
were leaders in this movement.
In 1944-45 the Frozen Food Lockers were
built at 38 S. Main Street. At the College
a new Science Building was erected 1951-
52; in 1951 the old South Hall, oldest of the
original buildings dating from 1857-58, was
torn down and a modern dormitory erected
in 1952; the kitchen was completely remod-
eled and new storage and refrigerator facil-
ities added; and in 1955 a new Fire Tower
was erected at the rear of North Hall. In
1955-56, Webb Rice tore down the old fill-
ing station at 50 S. Main Street, and the
two old wooden buildings at 15 and 17 N.
Main Street and erected a new Fost Office
building at the first site "and two modern
stores at the second.
For a few years, beginning in 1945, the
airplane fever hit Mansfield. In September,
1945, a field was opened south of town
which was, in 1948, moved to a hill top on
the old ore bed road. In 1946 there were
seven planes owned locally and air plane
breakfasts were the style, staged at var-
ious fields in other localities. Garrison and
Myers were dealers in planes, and flying
lessons were given at the field. In 1949 the
field was again moved to its former loca-
tion on the flat south of Canoe Camp but
by 1950 there was little-local flying. The
increased expense of operating the field led
to its abandonment.
New industries were brought to town
through the activities of the Business Men's
Association which bought a tract of land
(part of the old Putnam lands) in the south-
east corner of the Borough. Here the Arm-
co Corporation erected a large fabrication
unit in 1952-53. In 1954 the Association
erected a building for the Houghtaling and
Oldman, Inc. Foundry which had been oper-
ating in a small building on the park. On
7th Street there was built a large skating
rink which has been very popular. South
of 7th Street, the G.L.P. Cooperative great-
ly enlarged the 1946 plant in 1949.
In 1946 those lot owners who were inter-
ested in the old Oakwood Cemetery revived
the organization and sold the cemetery to
the Prospect Cemetery Association. This
association, out of civic pride, took over
the property and proceeded immediately to
improve it and to provide an attractive site
for future lot purchases.
In 1946 a new franchise was granted the
Tioga County Bell Telephone Company and
in 1948 the company built a modern "Cen-
tral" at 56 S. Main Street. By 1952 the Bell
System had absorbed the local lines of the
old Citizens Telephone Company. In 1954
the Tioga County unit sold out to the Com-
monwealth Telephone Company of Dallas,
In 1952 the Baptist congregation made a
considerable addition to the Sherwood
Street side of the church.
In 1950-51 new street signs were erected
at all street corners. In 1952 scales were
installed at the Borough Building. When
trucks were suspected to be overweight,
they could be checked here by the Borough
Police. Parking meters also were installed
in 1950. Through the revenue received from
these two sources it became possible to
hire police for twenty-four-hour duty and
to increase greatly the protection to school
children going to and from school.
The tax rate on borough real estate was
increased to 24 mills in 1942, and cut to 23
mills 1943-1947. After a special election in
1947 it was increased to 26 mills to give
increased fire protection but was cut to
25 mills in 1948, 24 in 1950, 22 in 1951. Fol-
lowing the State revision of assessments
it was cut to nine mills in 1955 but raised
to 12 mills in 1956.
In 1953 the Tyco Television Company put
up a tower, were granted a franchise, and
brought a cable to town, making it possible
tor residents to install television sets in
In 1948, C. Morris Thompson constructed
an attractive Dairy Bar at 103 W. Wellsboro
Street, with a modern pasteurizing and ice
cream plant attached.
Doctors: J. J. Moore, Robert Sanford,
1949; Charles B. Flack, 1950; I. R. Vincent
Dentists: J. J. McMillan, E. A. Evans,
Veterinarians: R. J. Lynch, E. E. Barber.
Attorney: Robert E. Farr.
SOUTH MAIN STREET. 1900
SOLDIERS' ORPHAN SCHOOL about 1880
MANSFIELD BOROUGH COUNCIL, 1957
Back Row: L-R Att'y Robert E. Farr, Councilman David C. Evans. Wayne
R. Cleveland, Jay B. Foreman, Burgess Joseph H. Garside, Chester P. Bailey,
Secretary; Councilman William C. Bradshaw.
Front Row: L-R John F. Myers, Treasurer; Councilmen, Dana D. Decker,
Rdnald D. Sick, President; Howard L. Goodall.
MANSFIELD FREE LIBRARY and HONOR ROLL, WORLD WAR II
FIRST NATIONAL BANK BUILDING, 1953
IX. The Government
Henry Allen 1857, 1866
J. A. Holden 1858
S. B. Elliott 1859
Mart King 1860, 1861, 1864, 1874, 1875
A. J. Ross 1862
Philip Williams 1863
W. D. Long 1865
J. T. Strait 1867
W. B. Middaugh 1868, 1870, 1871
William Hollands 1869, 1878
J. W. Adams 1871
J. S. Murdaugh 1873, 1874
D. H. Pitts 1876, 1879, 1885
C. H. Verrill 1877
Enoch Blackwell 1880
C. V. Elliott 1881
T. H. Bailey,
1882, 1883, 1886, through 1889, 1900-03
H. E. Metcalf 1884, 1890, 1891
C. S. Kingsley 1892
W. D. Husted 1893
Dr. J. M. Barden 1894
P. E. Van Keuran 1895, 1896
Three Year Terms
S. J. Shepard 1897
R. W. Rose : 1903
E. H. Ross 1906
Four Year Terms
P. A. Clark 1909
A. H. Vosburg Feb. 1913 to Dec. 1918
L. B. Shaw 1918
Edwin Coles 1922 to Jan. 1936
Everett McMurtry 1936 to Oct. 1940
Mott Brooks Nov. 1940 to June 1943
E. C. Russell July 1943 to 1954
Joseph Garside 1954
Porter Gaylord 1857, 58, 69, 70
L. H. Elliott 1857
M. Kelley 1857, 58, 68
J. M. Cassels 1857
H. Davis 1857, 58, 63
Wm. Adams 1858, 66
B. C. Mann 1858, 65, 68, 74, 75, 81
D. H. Spur 1859
William Hollands .... 1859, 60, 61, 62, 64, 72
A. B. Campbell 1859, 60
L. H. Brewster 1859
W. D. Kelley I860
A. Young 1860, 61
H. G. Martin 1860
John Slingerland 1861
H. H. Lawrence 1861, 64, 65
W. H. Allen 1861
Henry Allen 1862, 64
J. M. Phelps 1862, 69, 70, 72, 73
Phil Williams 1862, 74, 75
R. P. Buttles 1862, 67
L. A. Ridgway 1863, 76
A. Hunt 1863, 64, 72, 73
L. D. Grover 1863, 65
C. J. Kelley 1863
A. J. Ross 1864, 67, 72, 73
G. W. Kiff 1865, 66, 69
J. L. Kelley 1865
Abram Shuart 1866, 71
Alvin Gaylord 1866
J. D. Smith 1866
C. V. Elliott 1867, 76, 83
J. S. Murdaugh 1867
J. M. Bailey 1867, 78
P. V. Clark 1868, 76
A. J. Webster 1868
Enoch Blackwell 1868
L. Reynolds 1869
F. L. Allen 1869, 74, 75
J. W. Adams 1870, 71
C. J. Munn 1870
John A. Holden 1870
L. B. Eagle 1871
O. Newell 1871, 89 to 1905
Homer Kingsley 1871, 87, 88, 89
Mart King 1872, 73, 79
A. M. Pitts 1872, 73, 78
C. W. Brown 1873
D. H. Pitts 1874, 75
C. S. Kingsley 1874, 75, 81-85, 87-89
L. R. Decker 1874
Solomon Sweet 1875
F. M. Shaw 1876, 77
W. W. Bentley 1876, 77, 81, 86, 87, 88
M. A. Cass 1876
Freeman Gaylord 1877, 79, 80
Hiram Hodges 1877
D. D. Mann 1877, 78, 79
T. H. Bailey 1877, 79, 80, 81
J. F. Howe,
1878 to 1880, 1893 to 1895, 1906-09
V. R. Pratt 1878
G. W. Davis 1878, 80
Dyer Butts 1879, 81-83, 85-87
U. S. Snover 1880
H. C. Bailey 1880
D. A. Gaylord 1881-83
C. L. Strait 1882
T. F. Rolison 1882, 83
J. A. Elliott 1882, 83
B. C. Mann 1884, 85, 86
Edward Doane 1884. 85. 86
Emory Goodrich 1884, 85, 86
T. M. Shaw 1884
Three Year Terms From Here
A. H. Avery 1884
T. Williams 1885
G. W. Davis - 1886
J. M. Barden 1888
Frank Kohler 1888
Era Wright 1889
3, E. Reese 1830, 93
C. H. Horton 1890
Joseph Schusler 1891
O. T. Haight 1891
B. V. Strait 1892
C. H. Randall 1892
H. E. Metca'.f 1894
O. V. Smith 1894
T. W. Judge 1895, 07
G. L. Strait 1895
W. W. Allen 1897
Ray Longbothum 1897
Ed Passmore 1898, 04
E. N. Bentley 1898, 08
A. S. Reynolds 1899
Ed C. Wood 1S99. 03
J. L. Cummings 1899
A. R. Decker 1902, 07
Wm. McConnell 1902
G. A. Cornwell 1900
L. B. Shaw 1900, 03, 07 (1 yr.)
J. M. Clark 1901, 05
Delos H. Walker 1901
Reuben Curtis 1901 (1 yr.), 05
E. H. Blackwell 1904
II. I. Ripley 1905
M. Shipbanker 1906, 09
Frank Gillette 1907
Elmer Briggs 1908
W. D. Ramsdell 1908, 14
S. B. McConnell 1909, 13. 20. 22, 20
J. H. Benson 1910
A. W. Rear 1910
Four Year Term From Here
F. L. Jupenlaz 1911
C. B. Sherwood 1911, 15
H. B. Taylor 1911, 15
S. C. Dorsett 1911
C. W. Earley 1913
J. J. Taylor 1913 (1 yr.)
Willys Avery 1915, 1920, 1924
H. B. Kingsley 1915
Homer H. Hager 1917 (3 yrs.)
G. L. Palmer 1917
F. W. Simmons 1917
Wallace Lowe 1920, 1924
Leon Baynes 1920, 24, 28, 32
R. E. Cleveland 1922
R. M. Swan 1922
Frank Marvin 1924
H. G. Peterson 1926,30, 34
E. C. Russell 1926, 30, 34, 38
E. A. Retan 1928 (2 yrs.)
C. M. Thompson 1928, 32
M. H. Shepard 1928, 32
J. E. Farrer 1928, 30, 34
A. T. Belknap 1930 (2 yrs >
Wade Goodall 1936
O. L. Schanbacher 1936, 40, 44
Wm. Barden....l936, 40, 44, 48, resigned 1949
C. L. Johnson 1936, 40
Fred Hakes 1938, 42, 46, 50, 54 to 56
1938, 42, 46, 50, resigned 1952
W. E. French 1940, 44
Dana Decker 1942, 46, 50, 54
Charles Hawley 1944
Raymond Austin 1948
King Rose 1948
David Evans 1948, 52, 56
John M. Barden 1950 to 52
H. L. Goodall 1952, 54
Emerson Evans 1952
J. J. Moore 1952
Ronald Sick 1952, 56
William Bradshaw 1956
William Taylor 1956, resigned June 1st
Wayne Cleveland 1956
J. B. Foreman 1956
X. Old Homes
HIS list is very incomplete. It has
been limited by the failure of the
Advertiser to give any mention of
the homes being built during the
seventies other than to say that twenty-
four homes were built in 1877. The assess-
ment list of the Borough was of some help,
but too many homes were simply given as
"very old." It is also true, of course, that
the oldest homes have often been added to,
or remodeled, so that they do not appear
to be old. It is hoped that the list is reas-
Probably Built Before 1850
North Main Street: —
No. 18 — The original A. J. Ross house. It
was sold to Dr. Fred Elliott in 1892, and in
1937 became the Shaw Funeral Home.
Nos. 72, 80, 84 and 98 appear on the 1857
map of M. L. Clark.
No. 107 was built in 1850 or earlier and
was the hotel of Oliver W. Phelps until
No. 241 — The Henry Allen house.
No. 304— Built in 1838 or 39 by Capt. Ezra
Davis. This house was a station on the
Underground Railroad; run-a-way slaves
were kept in the attic by John C. Howe,
who owned the home for many years.
No. 473— Built in 1835.
South Main Street: —
No. 18— Built shortly after 1829. This was
the Brundage Hotel for many years.
No. 146 — This is the oldest house still in
use. It was built in 1824 by Daniel Holden.
No. 376— The old Butts House.
No. 272— The first brick house, built in
1841 by Ben Gitchell.
Prospect Street, No. 45.
Extension Street, No. 56.
East Wellsboro Street, No. 46.
Sherwood Street, Nos. 27 and 28.
St. James Street, No. 317.
Sullivan Street, No. 49-51, the old Baptist
Church moved to this location.
South Academy Street, Nos. 20-24, the
old Mansfield School House to 1880.
North Academy Street, No. 21, the Clark
House on 1857 map.
East Elmira Street, No. 21, the Lawrence
House, No. 38, No. 53,. the Lamb House, No.
67, the Slingerland House.
Probably Built in the Fifties
East Main Street, No. 161; College Ave-
nue, No. 24; First Street, No. 80; Sherwood
Street, Nos. 27 and 105; East Elmira Street,
St. James Street, Nos. 181, 214, 260.
East Wellsboro Street, No. 51, the Cum-
mings House; No. 61, the Captain Pitts
North Academy Street, No. 45, possibly-
built by S. B. Elliott; No. 54.
Probably Built in the Sixties
St. James Street, No. 54 and 125.
Sherwood Street, No. 19, the Dorsett
House; No. 22, built in 1863; No. 81, the-
John Kohn House; No. 55, the Kingsley
House; No. 84, the Dr. Cole House.
First Street, No. 37; Brooklyn Street, No-.
Prospect Street, No. 49, built by Rev. N.
L. Reynolds, a Baptist minister, and for
many years the home of Dr. C. V. Elliott.
Morris Avenue, No. 40, reputed to have-
been a plank school house originally on
West Wellsboro Street and may be mud*
Probably Built in the Seventies
North Main Street, No. 36, the Murdaugh
House; No. 176, R. R. Kingsley; No. 181,
Clark Sherwood; No. 375.
South Main Street, No. 82, and the two-
houses south by Dr. Smythe; No. 130, the
Backer House; No. 170, the Dan Pitts
House; No. 207.
St. James Street, No. 65, William Barton;
Nos. 96, 120, 151, 184, 196.
West Elmira Street, No. 68; East Elmira
Street, No. 85; Extension Street, Nos. 64
Sullivan Street, Nos. 5 and 7.
South Academy Street, No. 91, the Wil-
liamson House; No. 241.
College Avenue, No. 48, the Verrill
House; No. 71, the Allen House; No. 24,
the Holden House.
Brooklyn Street, Tom Bailey built nine
houses on this street probably including
Nos. 2, 145, 155, and 217.
Sherwood Street, Nos. 48 and 65, the
Homer Kingsley House.
First Street, No. 56; Second Street, No.
OFFICE BUILDING, MANSFIELD FAIR, 1893
SMYTHE PARK ENTRANCE
XL Institutions and Businesses
1. The Public Library
N 1901, after considerable discus-
sion, the School Board appropriat-
ed $200.00 toward a free public
library, providing $400.00 should
be raised in the Borough for the same pur-
pose. The conditions were met and the first
books were purchased in December, partly
from a second hand book store in Philadel-
phia by Rev. David Crockett. The Library
opened in the old Henry Allen Offices, 32
North Main Street, with Miss Stella Allen
(Mrs. Fred Ely) in charge on February 7,
1902. It was managed by a board of direc-
tors, part of whom represented the School
Board and part the citizens. Mattie Bodine
was librarian 1903-08.
In 1908 it was moved to the second floor
of the Allen Block over Strait's Hardware.
Miss Mary Shepard was librarian until 1923,
H. J. Van Norman to 1928, and Karl Van
Norman to 1956. In 1911, on April 5th, as
a result of efforts by J. A. Elliott and others,
the Andrew Carnegie Library Fund made a
grant of $5,000.00 for a building on condi-
tion that the Library Association raise
$700.00 for a lot, grading, etc. In a very
short time nearly $1,000.00 was raised and
the Borough Council appropriated $500.00.
The corner stone was laid November first.
For many years the Library was sup-
ported by the school board, the council and
gifts, but there was never enough money
available to keep up the property and buy
new books. In 1936 an election was held
on the question of laying a one mill tax on
property in the Borough for library pur-
poses. The vote was favorable and since
that time it has been possible to maintain
the property in better shape, but there has
never been as much money as was needed
in spite of many generous gifts by indivi-
Miss Helen Wood is now the librarian.
2. The Borough Water System
After the bad fires of the eighties, there
was much agitation concerning a water sup-
ply. The Council had surveys made; com-
mittees visited nearby communities; vari-
ous watersheds were considered, and financ-
ing was discussed. It was finally decided
that the Borough could not finance the in-
stallation of a water system as the estimat-
ed cost of $45,000.00 was too great in pro-
portion to the estimated assessment of the-
municipality. It was, therefore, decided to-
accept the offer of the Watres family of
Scranton and May 8, 1893, a franchise was
granted them, based on the use of the
Lambs Creek drainage basin. During the-
nineties much fault was found with the
quality of the water furnished. At times,
little was available. It was claimed by
some that the source was contaminated and
samples sent away for analysis were pro-
nounced impure. A suit was begun to se-
cure better service but was settled for fifty
dollars after citizens presented a petition,
stating they were satisfied with the water-
Again in 1908-09 there was agitation
against the water company and the Council
had the system appraised with the idea of
acquiring it. It was valued at over $40,000*
and nothing was done. Again in 1923 there
was a fight over increased water rates and
the Council appropriated $75.00 for legal
expenses connected with the fight. But it
was not until 1942 that definite steps were-
taken to get control. Since the Borough
could not finance the purchase, a Municipal
Authority was formed which could legally
issue bonds with which to make the pur-
chase. The transfer was effected in 1943,
and since then the Authority has retired,
purchase bonds more rapidly than was an-
ticipated in spite of increased expenses for
repairs and improvements. The Authority
owns 1,000 acres of watershed, a large por-
tion of which has been reforested.
3. The Postoffice
The Postmasters during the early days
of the village are listed in the Tioga Coun-
ty Histories. In 1882, Mansfield was made a
Presidential Office. Rural Free Delivery
Service started in 1900 and was rapidly ex-
panded. City Delivery dates from July 1,
1928. Beginning in the Sixties, the Post-
masters and the location of the office were
C. V. Elliott— 1861-73, at about 11 N. Main
Vine Pratt— 1873-77, at about 15 N. Main.
M. L. Clark — 1877-86, same location.
N. A. Elliott— 1886-90, moved to 4 S. Main.
Street in 1887.
J. A. Elliott— 1890-94; and 1898-1903.
J. L. Cummings— 1894-98.
T. H. Bailey— 1903-15.
Robert Urell— 1915-23.
Elmer Cornwell — 1923-36.
Francis Kelly — 1936-.
Union Hall, the third floor of the Bank
Block, was used as an entertainment center
until the Opera House was built in 1888-89.
Many road shows came to the Opera House
■during the winter season. Later, Howe's
Moving Pictures were first shown in Mans-
field in this building. The Opera House
was often used for dances and other social
functions. It burned in 1913.
In 1907 the Theatorium was built and op-
erated by Ed Saks and Chas. Miller. This
building was located on Hoard Alley, back
of the brick building on the corner. This
■was purchased by K. F. Van Norman who
operated it in 1911-1916 when it burned.
In 1916 the Star Theater, now the Twain,
was built by W. A. McCausland and E. G.
Cornwell. It was managed by Mr. Van Nor-
man until 1933 when Jack Myers took it
over. In 1936 it was renovated and opened
by Harry A. Taylor and Henry Swain. In
1940 Harry Taylor became the sole owner
and since his death in 1950 his son William
Taylor has managed it. The first talking
pictures in Mansfield were shown here in
5. Mansfield Hotels
The earliest hotel in the Borough of
•which we have record was the one run by
Phelps, which was mentioned earlier. It
was south of Corey Creek, and is probably
the Johnson Apartments at the present
time. At one time Phelps was accused of
allowing gambling here. It also housed the
Post Office in the fifties.
The Fuller House, mentioned in 1856, for-
merly a private house, was probably the
beginning of the present Mansfield Hotel.
It has been known under various names.
It was the Commercial House in 1887-96. It
was then sold to Mark French who remod-
eled it and ran it until about 1917. In 1918
It was the Hotel Taylor; later the Hotel
Smith; in 1933 it was bought by C. B. Rich-
ardson; in 1934 by Mrs. Cheeseman; in
1935 by H. T. Flook; in 1939 by Mark Pal-
mer and renamed the Marlyn. In 1945 Pal-
xner sold to James Maitlain and in 1949 it
passed into the possession of King Rose
and his wife who have owned it since ex-
cept for a very short time in 1950-51. In
the later 20's a fire damaged the building
badly, but it was completely restored.
In 1873 there was in operation the Hotel
Brundage, but how much earlier is not clear.
This was at 18 S. Main Street. This build-
ing, bought by Mrs. G. N. Welch in 1903,
has been run as a hotel or restaurant to
the present time. Charles Campbell had it
in 1906, Bert Cheeseman in 1925, Theoharus
in 1937, Ernest Boyce in 1945 and Ernest
Vosburg since 1946.
When the Soldiers Orphan School was re-
moved from Mansfield in 1889, Mrs. F. A.
Allen opened it as a hotel. This stood on
the northwest corner of Main and Wells-
boro Streets. In 1892 Mark French took it
over and ran it until he went to the Mans-
field Hotel in 1896 and sold it to T. H.
Bailey who was running it when it burned
About 1881 a hotel was opened in a brick
building at the south corner of Central
Street and Railroad Street. This was later
known as the Grand Central Hotel and was,
for a time, considered the best hotel in the
County. Some very fine banquets and par-
ties were held there, not always meeting
with the approval of some of the citizens
not present. It burned in 1889, some guests
barely escaping with their lives.
No. 8 East Wellsboro Street was run as
a hotel from 1900 to 1911.
6. Soldiers Orphan School
This institution was founded in 1867 by
Fordyce A. Allen, later Principal of the Nor-
mal School, and very prominent in educa-
tional circles in the state. It was started
in a building on the northwest corner of
Main and Wellsboro Streets. Later it ex-
panded and 28 W. Wellsboro Street was
erected, and a third story was built on the
Allen Block. After Mr. Allen's death in
1880, it was carried on by Mrs. Allen and
Vine R. Pratt until it was closed by the
State in 1889. This school supported base-
ball teams and bands and the students were
active in community affairs. The annual
reunions of the graduates in recent years
have brought back many men and women
to attest the fine training they received at
this school. A monument to Mr. Allen,
erected by funds raised by his former stu-
dents, now stands at the northwest corner
of Main and Wellsboro Streets.
ORIGINAL CONDENSERY BUILDING
ARMCO DRAINAGE and METAL PRODUCTS COMPANY
MANSFIELD MEMORIAL SWIMMING POOL, 1949
HORSE BARN, SMYTHE PARK
7. Mansfield's Oldest Business Places
Not all the tacts and dates given here are
guaranteed to be accurate. All that can be
claimed is that every effort has been made
to have them as correct as possible. Some-
times the recollections of older citizens do
not agree with facts found in the papers of
the time. One trouble is that in writing of
places of business the papers never give
the street numbers and generally no idea of
the location of a business. This is also true
of the advertisements, which furnished a
good deal of the material. But the greatest
difficulty was the absence of papers in the
While many businesses have been started
and continued for a time, too many to note
in this short history, there are many which,
under different proprietors or in different
locations, have established themselves as
more or les? fixtures in the community.
Some are no longer in existence, but were
important for a long time.
The oldest business of the same kind is
the Harness Shop of Ernest Jupenlaz at 8
North Main Street. This business was start-
ed about 1848 by William Hollands on S.
Main Street opposite the Hotel. It was later
moved to S. Main Street, south of the Pitts
Block and was burned out in 1883. In 1885
Hollands moved to the present location. He
sold to Jaynes in 1886 and 1901 Jaynes sold
to Fred Jupenlaz. Hollands was very prom-
inent in the early days of the Borough.
It is claimed that the oldest business in
the same family is the Decker Dray and Ice
business. This business dates back prob-
ably to the seventies under the father of
the recent owner, Dana Decker. Most of
that time it has been at the present loca-
tion, John Marvin bought it in 1956.
Dr. C. V. Elliott, another very prominent
citizen in the early history, had a brick
store at 11 N. Main Street as early as in
the sixties. It is the oldest brick store in
town. He sold out to J. Maltby Smith in
1891, who, in turn, sold to J. P. Bates in
1897. The building was partly burned in
1901 and immediately rebuilt. Bates sold
to Harold Terry in 1931.
R. E. Olney had a jewelry store at 16 E.
Wellsboro Street as early as 1867. He built
the brick block in 1873 and in 1900, after
his death, it was sold to Edward Saks who
continued it until 1913. Until 1922 it was
occupied by Dan Souders, an optometrist.
After that it was a store run by the Smiths,
who had bought the building, and in 1926
Cunningham started a beauty parlor here
with Ella Mae Morse as operator. She
bought the business in 1927. (Now Mrs.
Another drug store with a continuous his-
tory, but not location, is the Coles Drug
Store at 2 South Main Street. In the seven-
ties Ridgway and Cole had a drug store at
approximately 17 N. Main Street. In 1874
they moved to the, at that time, new Bank
Block, 6 E. Wellsboro Street, and continued
in business until 1890 when they sold to
Stevenson and Burnham, and in 1892 Burn-
ham became sole owner. In 1902, at his
death it was so d to Whitman, who sold to
Tassnioie in 1905. In 1909 Percy Coles
bought the business and in 1924 moved to
S. Main Street.
As early as 1864, possibly earlier, O. V.
Elliott had a shoe store at 54 N. Main
Street and built a brick home there in 1881.
He moved to the Allen Block, then to 10
N. Main Street where he and his son, Frank
K., continued until 1924, when it was moved
to 6 E. Wellsboro Street. Frank died in
1925 and the business was continued until
about 1928 by John E. Farrer.
One of the oldest businesses is the pres-
ent T. W. Judge Co. In 1865 D. H. Pitts
had a store in the neighborhood of the
present 15 N. Main Street. He later moved
to a store located on S. Main Street just
south of the present store. This store burn-
ed and in 1873 Pitts Bros. (Dan H. and
Aaron) built the brick block at the south-
west corner of Main and West Wellsboro
Streets. D. H. bought out his brother, and
later it was Pitts and J. M. Clark, 1883;
then in 1896, Pitts, Ed Ross and Tom
Judge; in 1905, Pitts and Judge; and in
1908 The T. W. Judge Company. After the
death of T. W. Judge in 1910 it was carried
on by his son, Wade, until 1943 when, after
his death, it was purchased by Herbert
Peterson, who had been associated with
him in the business. In 1884 the south addi-
tion to the block was built. In 1923, the
smaller one story addition was built con-
taining a grocery department, closed out
in 1939. In 1931 the second story was re-
modeled and in 1955 new fronts were built
to the center store and the old grocery-
store remodeled for a bakery.
From some time in the sixties N. Kings-
ley had a shoe store on N. Main Street. It
was burned in the fire of 1882 and the brick
store at 21 N. Main Street was built to re-
place it. In 1885 his son, Homer, was in
business with him and carried it on until
1912 when Homer died. It was sold to
William Neal and in 1947 to Harry Fish.
In 1856 A. J. Ross was a merchant in
Mansfield and Philip Williams became as-
sociated with him. The Bank Block was
built in 1871, the first of the large corner
Mocks. The Bank was started in 1872.
Charles Ross, the son of A. J. continued in
the bank with Williams after the death of
his father. Williams died in 1894 and
Charles Ross continued alone until, in 1907,
the Bank was reorganized as a National
Bank and bought the building for $15,000.00.
In 1904 the building was remodeled, putting
on a stone first story. In 1931 the bank was
again reorganized, with Mr. Ross retiring,
and in 1954, just fifty years after the first
remodeling, the building was again remod-
eled continuing the stone down the south
front and modernizing the interior.
In 1873 Robert Crossley, an immigrant
from England, who had been a gardener
for Dr. Morris, took over the greenhouses
started by Mrs. S. B. Elliott and enlarged
them. They were again enlarged in 1900
.and in 1902. The business was continued
by Robert's son William, and by William's
son Robert, until 1947 when it was sold to
A hardware business was going in 1873
at about 15 N. Wellsboro Street, under the
name of Lutz and Kohler. This continued
under various firm names until 1887 with
Kohler always one partner. In 1902 it be-
came John and Will Farrer; in 1903, Wells
Shaw and Farrer; and in 1905, W. S. Farr-
er. In 1922 it became Farrer and Taylor
and later Harry Taylor. In 1945, It was
bought by Welch Cleveland. The building
now in use was built in 1885-86 after the
old building burned.
Another hardware business is that of
Harold Strait at 2 N. Main Street. In 1876
C. E. Allen had a hardware business in
town. In 1878, after the completion of the
Allen Block it moved into its present loca-
tion as F. A. Allen and Company. The
building was, at first, a two-story building,
and the third story was added for the
Soldier.; Orphan School. The business be-
came successively, Allen and Pratt in 1880,
T. V. Moore and Company in 1882, Lloyd
and App in 1889, George L. Strait in 1891,
Strait and Wood, Strait and Retail, and
•George L. Strait and Sons in 1910, the pres-
ent firm name under Harold Strait as man-
Hoard's Insurance Agency was started in
1872 by J. S. Hoard. In 1919 it became J. S.
Hoard and Son and in 1925 on the death of
Mr. Hoard it was run by Donald Hoard. It
was sold to E. B. Strait about 1928 and in
1930 Charles Ross bought a share and ran
it alone after the death of Mr. Strait in
1934. On the death of Mr. Ross, 1949, It
was sold to Mrs. May Lent, and then to
John Myers in 1950.
Terrance Smythe had a grist mill on the
west side of the river as early as 1850. In
1857 he sold this to Clark Bailey, who with
his two sons, Tom H. and J. W., continued
to 1890, built a large mill, installing the
new process to use winter wheat, making
a good grade of flour and known as the
Sun Milling Company. It was purchased by
Charles S. Ross. It was continued into the
twenties before it was closed, and was
burned in 1934.
Spencer had a photograph gallery near
the corner of N. Academy and E. Elmira
Streets, probably as early as the sixties. In
1884, when the Welch block was built at
the corner of N. Main and Center Streets,
there was a photograph gallery on the sec-
ond floor on the Center Street side. This
was run by McFarland until 1901, when it
was bought by McClusky and then sold to
B. M. Vedder in 1909 and discontinued about
1920. W. A. Bates also had a photograph
gallery in his home at the corner of Sher-
wood and N. Main Streets during the twen-
Capt. Ezra Davis had a tannery north of
Corey Creek on N. Main Street from about
1840 to 1865. In 1865 R. R. Kingsley bought
a partnership, and in 1868 the business. It
was enlarged in 1873 and was continued
by R. R. and his son Charles S. until 1893.
Charles S. owned the business until it was
discontinued in 1910 or 11.
William Adams had a general store in
the seventies at about 24 N. Main Street,
with an office building north of it. This
building was later, 1889, enlarged, remov-
ing the office and forming the Adams
Block. The business was sold in 1876 to
O. V. Elliott and Sons. In 1878 they moved
to 10 N. Main Street. Erlich had a business
there until 1880 when it was taken over
by S. J. Shepard who continued it until
1922. The Atlantic and Pacific Grocery was
in the building until 1935. From that year
it has been occupied by the Tri-County
Rural Electrification. Dr. Williamson's Den-
tal office was in this building.
In the seventies, perhaps in the late six-
ties, Allan Peterson, a colored man, had a
barber shop in town. When the Pitts Block
was built he had a shop in the basement
on the Wellsboro Street side. Later he
moved to 14 S. Main Street which has been
a barber shop, except for a short time, ever
since. In 1913 E. V. McConnell was work-
ing for him. After returning from World
War I in 1920, McConnell started his own
shop at 13 W. Wellsboro Street. This build-
ing had also been a Barber Shop for many-
years with Mead Dann as proprietor.
The Mansfield Advertiser was established
in 1873 and published in the Bank Block,
later upstairs at about 15 N. Main Street.
It was later moved into the Fred Allen
Block at 12 N. Main Street until, in 1940,
it moved to its own newly erected building
at 47 N. Academy Street. Present publish-
ers are E. S. Coles and C. P. Bailey.
There were grocery stores at the corner
of N. Main and Central Streets from the
earliest days. Asa Mann may have had one
here in 1832. They were all burned out in
the fire of 1882. At that time G. N. Welch
who had had a store on S. Main Street,
built the brick block with two store fronts
on each street. In 1896 he sold to R. W.
and M. F. Rose. They ran a general store
here until 1829 when they sold to Prestons,
Inc., who still run it.
The New Era Mills were built by the
Sherwoods as a grist mill and clothes pin
factory. The building was sold, in 1888, to
B. V. Strait. In 1893 Strait took in Charles
Kingsley as a partner, and in 1897 Kingsley
bought the business. He ran it with his
son Ralph, and later Ralph alone, until 1933.
It was then sold to Harry and Herbert Koh-
ler, with Dean and Lee as managers.
In 1882 L. Cummings built a small wood-
en store at 45 E. Wellsboro Street. It was
purchased by W. C. Miller in 1911. This
building has been a bakery until 1955, but
the bakers have changed frequently. The
names associated with it for longer periods
are: Cummings, Jupenlaz, Littley, and J. B.
Loveland. This building is now an office.
In 1884, A. B. Welch built a laundry at
111 E. Elmira Street. It was bought by
Wilson and Ramsdall in 1895 and in 1899
by Frank Clark. He enlarged it consider-
ably in 1906. In 1911 it partially burned
but was rebuilt. Mr. Clark was badly burn-
ed in that fire and never fully recovered.
In 1939 it was taken over by Clifford Clark
and from 1942-44 the last proprietor was
In the seventies, A. R. Decker had a sash
and blind factory across from the Railroad
Station. This was bought in 1880 by Ed
Doane and continued until 1919 when it
became part of the Novelty Plant. In this
factory in 1906-07 was built a boat 44 feet
by 10 feet which was launched at Newburg,
N. Y., and made a trip to Australia. This
building burned in the 1947 fire.
In 1892 a Novelty Works was moved here
from Monroeton, Pa., and located in a new
building about where the North Penn Power
Plant now is. Some of the workers also
moved here. In 1900 it was purchased by
Pitts and Ross with L. W. Obourn as super-
intendent. In 1923 O. L. Schanbacher and
Obourn bought it and moved the machinery
to the old Doane factory. In 1925 on the
death of Mr. Obourn, Mr. Schanbacher took
over the plant. Both before and after the
fire of 1947 the plant was enlarged by sev-
eral concrete buildings. At one time this
plant was the largest manufacturer of chil-
dren's tops in the country and shipped
many carloads abroad.
15 N. Main Street was the site of the
Postoffice in the seventies under M. L.
Clark, in connection with a notions store.
J. D. Catlin bought this business in 1901
and ran it until 1911, as a combination no-
tions and grocery. It was continued as a
grocery by Kelley and Baynes, and later by
Kelley and Obourn until 1927. At that time
Mrs. Harry Finesilver started a woman's
furnishings store here and continued it un-
til 1955 when she moved to the new modern
store next door, No. 17 N. Main. The No.
15 building was razed and a modern brick
store erected which was occupied by the
Western Auto Store.
17 N. Main Street housed the Postoffice,
with Vine Pratt as postmaster in the early
seventies. This was afterwards used as a
restaurant. This was torn down and a larg-
er wooden building erected. George Clark,
whose father had had a wagon and carri-
age store on W. Wellsboro Street in the
old Orphan School building, and who had
had a store on the corner of E. Wellsboro
and St. James Streets, moved here in 1899.
In 1911 he sold to Mr. Klesa and he later
to Manley Benson. In 1923 Harry Finesil-
ver started a Men's Furnishing Store here
and continued it until his death in 1930.
The building housed a Ford Agency here
in 1931, Biddle's Clothing Store, 1934-36,
and Markson's Clothing Store, 1936-1955. In
this year it was torn down and a fine new
brick building erected for Mrs. Finesilver's
19 N. Main Street was the site of a groc-
ery store owned by H. J. Ripley in 1870.
This was burned in 1882 and Ripley sold
the lot to Justus B. Clark who built a brick
store in which he sold groceries in 1883.
In 1892 he sold to Lewis H. Moody, who
was an insurance agent. Around 1900 A.
W. Kear started a five and dime store here.
It has been a five and dime ever since
under several owners among whom were
McCausland. Lamphier, Percy Wilson, Peter
Abrams from about 1928, and Hazel Wit-
more since 1941.
25 N. Main Street has been the site of a
furniture store, or furniture and undertak-
ing most of the time since it was built,
following the fire of 1882. In 1880, Rolason
bought the undertaking business of Beach
and Clark, which had existed for many
years, and located on S. Main Street. Rola-
son moved into this building in 1883 or 84,
with Metcalf as a partner. Metcalf sold his
interest to L. B. Shaw in 1897. In 1911 the
firm dissolved and Shaw continued the un-
dertaking, first in the Holden building on
E. Wellsboro Street and later in the rear
of the Grange Bank. The furniture store
continued under Rolason, under Kear for a
short time, and, in 1914 under Lynn Hall.
L. B. Shaw was joined by his son Wilford
in the undertaking business in 1925 and
they returned to this building in 1927. In
1935 Wilford bought the business and con-
tinued it here until 1937 when he moved to
the Funeral Home. The Store was a Grand
Union Grocery after 1939, then the Broder-
ick Furniture Store in 1945, and in 1950 the
Furniture Store of Raymond Van Noy.
In 1889 W. C. Miller bought the T. J.
Rogers Marble Works, located on East
Main Street and moved them to the present
location at 41 E. Wellsboro Street. Edward
C. Russell has been the proprietor since
M. H. Shepard and Sears bought out, in
1889, the old Westbrook Clothing Store
which had been in existence since some
time in the eighties. For a time it was
Shepard and Shipbanker, but Shepard be-
came the sole owner in 1899. At this time
the store was located in the Bank Block on
S. Main Street. In 1906, Shepard and T. H.
Bailey built the block at the northwest cor-
ner of N. Main and W. Wellsboro Streets,
and the store has been there since that
time. After the death of Mr. Shepard the
store was bought by John Myers and Merle
Garrison in 1938. In 1950 Mr. Garrison be-
came the sole owner and it is now known
as Garrison's Men's Shop.
Michael Shipbanker, who worked as a
tailor for Shepard, and for a time owned
an interest in the store, started in business
for himself in a wooden building at 9 N.
Main Street in 1899. In 1905 he built the
store at that number and continued in bus-
inness until his death in 1929. For a cou-
ple of years there was a restaurant in the
building, but from 1932 to 1956 it was occu-
pied by the Baynes Shoe Company, now
owned by the Bond Shoe Company.
8 E. Wellsboro Street, known as the
Holden Building, has been a restaurant
most of the time for at least three quarters
of a century. It was knowD as the Hotel
Wilcox for a time after 1909. Fred Spencer,
Holden, Ray Pitts and A. H. Vosburg have
been the men more prominently identified
with the building. When not a restaurant
it has been an Undertaking business under
L. B. Shaw and a Music Store under Alden
Around 1892 Welt Smith had a shoe re-
pair shop and store in a wooden building
on the west side of S. Main Street across
from the hotel. In 1903 Shepard and Miller
built the brick store, 7 N. Main Street, and
he moved to that building. This business
was sold to Will Miller in 1916 and in 1932
it became the Baynes Shoe Company and
moved to 9 N. Main. Leon Baynes was
the manager of the business 1916-1956.
In 1907 a Grange National Bank was or-
ganized and located in the new Shepard
and Bailey Block, 3 N. Main Street. The
Bank failed in 1917 and was absorbed by
the First National Bank.
From 1908 until 1939 A. H. Vosburg had
a restaurant and ice cream business in the
Bank Block on S. Main Street. This was
continued by Jay Bunn for a time, but the
store was taken over to provide for the
expansion of the bank.
Ray Owens had a music store In a wood-
en building about where 3 8 S. Main Street
is. He moved to 17 N. Main Street in 1911.
After the Hotel Allen burned in 1904, the
rear end of the hotel, undamaged, was turn-
ed sideways and moved west to form what
is now 17-19 W. Wellsboro Street. Howard
and Grant Lewis had a furniture store here
for a short time but Owens bought the
building and moved his Music Store here
where it continued until 1935. The build-
ing is, since then, occupied by the North
Penn Power Company, but is known as the
Miss Nellie Rockwell had a Millinery
business in Mansfield for over forty years.
This was discontinued about 1944.
Miss Mary Crossley was also a milliner
for thirty-five years, beginning in 1891, at
26 N. Main Street.
A Foundry, which was started by Paine
and Wilson in 1878, then by Moore and Han-
son in 1890, was owned by Moore and Tom-
linson from 1892, and later by Floyd Tom-
linson at 13 E. Main Street, was enlarged
by him in 1910 and sold to Anthony Bill-
ard in 1942. Billard also had a building in
the park, but when this burned he moved
part of his plant to Covington.
A Bottling Works was started in Mans-
field by M. H. Shepard and A. H. Vosburg
about 1917. George Myers worked for them
for about three years and then purchased
the plant at 22 Sherwood Street, and has
continued the business to the present time.
J. D. Catlin, who had a grocery business
at 15 N. Main Street from 1901, built a new
store at 150 N. Main Street, in 1911 and
continued in business there until he sold
out to Brace in 1924, and in 1945 it was
purchased by H. H. Burke.
In 1908 M. H. Shepard started a Woman's
Department over his clothing store with
Miss Maybelle Wright in charge. In 1927
it was moved to 6 N. Main Street and in
1931 it was purchased by Miss Wright. She
sold it to Mrs. Jennie Cox Hendricks in
1949, the present owner.
Will Avery had a Marble Works in the
Borough from about 1904 or 05 until about
1928 or 29. It was located in the building
on Central Street now occupied by Rieppel.
Around 1921 an Elmira Street Grocery
was started at 90 E. Elmira Street. It was
run at various times by Crippen, Stella
Dyer and Sons, and was taken over in 1932
by Eldred Mudge. In 1939 it was sold to
Leo Allis, but was repurchased in 1942 by
Eldred and Cole Mudge and Irene Mudge
and Ellery Beagle continued the business
after the death of Eldred and in 1956 Ellery
Beagle became the sole owner.
C. M. Thompson has been selling milk
from the Morris Farms since 1916, except
for a period during World War I. Earlier
than that, from about 1900, when the farm
was worked by Reuben Curtis, Curtis had
a milk route. In 1913 before the Borough
passed an ordinance forbidding the sale of
unpasteurized milk, he put in the first plant
in Mansfield. In 1849 he finished the mod-
ern plant and Dairy Bar at 103 W. Wells-
George Dyer started an Electrical Con-
tracting business in 1923 in a barn back of
64 E. Elmira Street. In 1942 he took over
the old Laundry building, continuing the
contracting business and also selling elec-
Cecil H. Garrison started selling insur-
ance in town in 1923 and has continued un-
til the present time.
In 1926 James Caracciolo worked in the
shoe store of John Farrer. He moved to
his own shop at 16 S. Main Street in 1927
and has been there since that time.
George L. Palmer started a Jewelry Store
at 11 W. Wellsboro Street about 1903, later
known as Palmer Brothers after his brother
Robert joined him. In 1918, after the fail-
ure of the Grange Bank, they moved to 3
N. Main Street, where they remained until
1938 when they dissolved partnership.
George Palmer continued, at his home, the
Optometry business and repair work until
his death in 1953. Robert Palmer had a
Jewelry Store for a few years at 12 W.
The Atlantic and Pacific Company orig-
inally had a small store in a wooden build-
ing south of the Bank Block. In 1922 they
moved to 24 N. Main Street. In 1935 they
moved to 7 N. Main Street and in 1950 to
their present quarters at 25 S. Main Street.
In 1920 Chester Green started a Grocery
on W. Wellsboro Street. He soon moved
to the old Holden Building at 8 E. Wells-
boro Street. In 1926 he sold out to the
Market Basket Corporation, but remained
as manager until 1939 when the store was
moved to 10 S. Main Street where the
Judge grocery had been. This store closed
in January, 1955.
In 1897 Fred Spencer bought the Grocery
business of W. A. Pitts which was in the
corner store of the Pitts-Judge Block. Ho
sold to H. M. Griggs, who had been a part-
ner in the business for some time, in 1901.
For some years Fred Duell had a Meat
Market in the rear of this store. Griggs
sold to L. N. Goodall in 1916. In 1923 T. W.
Judge took over the store and moved it to
the new addition on the south of the block
From around 1927 W. A. McCausland had
a Cut Rate Drug Store south of the Bank
Block. He sold to Walter Swartwood in
1935 and he to Helen Wood in 1939. She
moved the business to 10 E. Wellsboro
Street in 1940 and sold to Daisy Harrington
in 1946. This store was discontinued in
G. Ray Edgerton started a five and ten
cent store at 3 N. Main Street in 1939. He
sold out the same year to Mark Sullivan
and he to George Kelly in 1941. Peter Ab-
rams bought it in 1942 but sold to the pres-
ent owner, Mr. and Mrs. Ross Sours.
From about 1918 to 1934, 6 E. Wellsboro
Street was a gift shop owned by Mrs. Lar-
rison. In 1938 Max Squires started a Dairy
Store here and sold it in 1943 to Mr. and
Mrs. Vergil Sours.
Joseph Garside started the Toy Store at
32 N. Main Street in 1944.
The Red and White Grocery at 145 E.
Main was started in 1936. It was enlarged
in 1954 by Melvin Rauscher who owns it.
In 1937 Markson's Clothing Store of El-
mira opened a branch in a wooden building
south of the Bank Block. In 1938 it was
moved to 17 N. Main Street and in 1955 to
the Pitts or Judge Block in the store va-
cated by the Postoffice. This portion of
the block was completely remodeled at this
About 1932 W. L. Fullinger had a Diner
on the east side of S. Main Street. G. Ray
Edgerton bought the diner in 1933 and
built a new one at 19 S. Main Street. This
is the present Johnson's Truck Lines office.
In 1941 he built the present diner at 5 S.
Main, now owned by Walter Kline, 1956.
In 1946 Roy Estep started a Jewelry
Store at 28 N. Main Street, and moved in
1950 to his present location at 11 W. Wells-
In 1893 Elliott and Allen had a business
dealing in coal, wood, lime and cement. In
1896 they sold to Morgan E. Rose. This
was located at 28 W. Wellsboro Street, part
of the old Orphan School property. Charles
McDowell was the manager of this business
from 1897 on and bought it after the death
of Mr. Rose. In 1945 the business was
purchased by Wilbur Johns who moved it
to the newly erected concrete building at
50 W. Wellsboro Street. Besanceney
Brothers bought the business in 1953 and
soon after discontinued it.
Warren Rose developed a milk shipping
and cheese making business throughout the
County in the early years of the century.
He built the original milk shipping station
where the Dairyman's League Plant now is.
In 1921 the League took over the plant and
in 1952 tore down the old buildings and put
up the present modern plant.
There was a Grand Union Grocery from
about 1925 at 10 N. Main Street. It moved,
in 1939, to 23 N. Main Street and opened
as a Supermarket, but was discontinued in
In 1940 Melvin Goodrich started a dry
cleaning business at 14 S. Main Street. In
1946-47 he built a concrete building at 97
E. Elmira Street and transferred his busi-
ness to that location.
It has been difficult to trace the history
of the News Rooms of the early days. Ray
Longbothum had a news room and bicycle
repair shop in a wooden building south of
the Bank Block for some years. He sold
his building to the Cigar Factory. John
Stout also had the bicycle repair shop and
newsroom in 1919. Later that was taken
over by Smith, at least as far as the news
room was concerned. He sold to Philip
Farrer in 1926 and he to Earl Cruttenden
in 1941. This News Room was at 12 S.
Main Street as it still is. In 1956 it was
purchased by Dean Davey.
In 1949 W. C. Barnes started an Insur-
ance Office at 28 W. Wellsboro Street.
George and Mrs. Porter and their little
candy shop located about where the A & P
Store now is, will be remembered by those
who were in Mansfield in the 90's and early
XII. The Automobile
HE Automobile came to Mansfield
- when Ed Ross bought a three-
wheel White Steamer in 1902 and
changed to a Stanley Steamer in
190b. Also in 1903 George A. Clark had an
Oldsmobile with handle steering. From this
time on changes in the appearance of Mans-
field came with increasing rapidity. In 1905
the road from Mansfield to Covington was
built and on September 4th the Council
adopted the provisions of the State law
regarding aid in the development of high-
ways and there was much discussion on
the relative merits of "brick" and "Mc-
Adam" roads. In 1906 there was a formal
request to the state for paving Main, El-
mira and Wellsboro Streets. In 1907 an
ordinance was passed to accept state aid
for a sixteen-foot payment, partly brick and
partly macadam for Main Street to Elmira
Street, West Elmira Street and Wellsboro
However, no action from the state was
forthcoming until in 1913 there was an-
other petition made. This time there was
favorable action and in 1914, at a special
election, a $30,000.00 bond issue was auth-
orized for highway construction. On May
13th the contract was signed and on July
21st an ordinance was passed that property
owners pay two-thirds of the cost where
extra width was provided. The road was
of brick construction, fifty-six feet wide
from Central Street to Normal Avenue, then
dropped to forty feet to Elmira Street and
the railroad, and then to sixteen feet. In
1915 extra paving from Second Street to
Fourth Street was laid with the property
owners paying two-thirds the cost.
The first speed limit signs were author-
ized on Oct. 7, 1913, and in 1916 there were
complaints about speeding on Main Street.
The next step was the authorization of gas
pumps, as detailed later.
In 1920, April 12, an ordinance was pass-
ed providing for the paving of Main Street
from Prospect Street to the Borough line.
By 1923 the citizens were demanding better
roads on the side streets and the paving of
East Wellsboro, Central, Railroad from Cen-
tral to Elmira Streets was authorized. This
was done by the company which was build-
ing the road from Mansfield to Tioga.
In 1924 East Wellsboro Street was paved
after a meeting of the citizens affected had
been held and agreed to pay the one-third
cost of the extra width. By this date the
road to Troy was nearly finished. An elec-
tion for the approval of an additional bond
issue of $10,000.00 for road construction was
held and the issue approved, but was not
used until 1930.
In 1926 was passed the first Traffic ordi-
nance. Also an Ordinance was passed pro-
viding for the paving of Elmira Street sub-
ject to State acceptance, but was not ac-
In 1928 St. James, First, Second, Normal
Avenue, Sherwood and Elmira Street to Ex-
tension were paved. In this year also the
State built the new concrete bridge over
Corey Creek at Main Street.
In 1934 E. Elmira Street from Extension
Street to the Borough limits was paved by
the State and Decker Street also. These
were made State Highways. West Wells-
boro Street was paved by the State and the
extra width from the railroad bridge to
Main Street was financed by the Borough
and property owners.
In 1936 the East Main Street paving to
Second Street was authorized and North
Main Street was improved by the State.
In 1939 N. Academy Street was paved
from Sullivan Street to Elmira Street and
in 1940 the Council approved the plans of
the State to widen and repave South Main
Street and to pave a thirty-six-foot road
from the railroad bridge to the Borough line
on the new road to Wellsboro.
In 1945 the State Highway Department
resurfaced E. Wellsboro and Sullivan
Streets and in 1946 rebuilt N. Main from
Prospect Street to the Borough line.
Probably the first garage in Mansfield
was an old blacksmith shop on the lot
across from the Episcopal Church, in 1909,
run by Rockwell and Baker. In 1918 two
permits for gas pumps to be placed in
front of business places were granted, and
by 1925 many others had been requested.
In 1921 C. M. Thompson built a "drive-in"
station on N. Main Street, No. 97, said to
be the first such station between Buffalo
and Washington. It has been an "Atlantic
Station" since that time.
In 1920 R. M. Swan built the garage, 31
S. Main Street, and in 1923 Sam Bishop the
garage at the corner of College Avenue and
Main Street. Bryan Husted bought the
Swan Garage, known since as the Chevrolet
Garage, and in 1931 built an addition at 25
S. Main Street which is now occupied by
the Atlantic and Pacific Grocery. These
two buildings were under the management
of Adams from 1932, Krise from 1933, Evans
from 1936 and King Rose from 1940 except
for the period 1951-54 when it was run by
Baldwin. The Bishop garage was run by
Bishop to 1927. by Raleigh, and by Loomis
until 1941 when it was sold to King Rose.
In 1920 there is mention of an Elmira
Street Garage under S. B. McConnell and
Son; under Herbert Crippen in 1921; Mc-
Connell and Wood later, and from 1926
mostly under Robert . Wilson until 1946
when it was sold to Lester Merrick, and in
1950 to Howard Davis.
Around 1927 the McClure Mo*or Co. had
a garage in a wooden build 'ty, where 25 S.
Main Street now is. When this was torn
down by Bryan Husted they moved, 1931,
to 17 N. Main Street and were there until
In 1925 Kilgore built the second "drive-
in" station and Garage at 133 N. Main
Street and continued there until he sold to
Wells and Goodall in 1938. This firm had
started in the rear of 17 N. Main Street
about 1935 and has continued to the pres-
ent, also starting the only tire recapping
business in Mansfield in 1944.
Howard Tavis started a garage in the
old Hoard barn on Hoard Street in 1929. In
1930 he moved to the old livery barn back
of the Adams Block selling Plymouth and
Chrysler cars. In 1935 he built the concrete
garage at 19 E. Wellsboor Street where he
remained until 1945 when he leased to How-
ard Brown, who was there until 1954.
Kilgore, in 1929, started another Filling
Station and Garage at 167 Sullivan Street.
He sold to Lester Merrick in 1936. Lee
Smith bought the plant in 1946, but sold to
Bernard Randolph in 1950. This Garage
was greatly enlarged by Lester Merrick.
In 1934 C. L. Johnson built the large con-
crete Garage at 19 S. Main Street for his
trucking business. In 1956 he leased the
main portion to Ralph Evans for a Ford
In 1934 the old DeWitt brick house at 44
S. Main Street was torn down and a "drive-
in" filling station erected there by Harry
In 1944 a garage was built at the south
end of town and in 1948 Wilson and Knapp
built a garage on N. Academy Street near
Early automobile dealers were: W. C,
Miller, who had the first Ford Agency in
1906, later the Dodge, and in 1920 the Reo;
Charles Early who was the second Ford
Dealer; E. C. Russell, who was the second
Dodge Dealer; Wm. Kilgore, who sold at
various times the Chalmers, the Cole 8, and
the Studebaker; Manley Benson, who, in
1916, sold the Overland.
TIOGA and ELMIRA STATE
CUT USED IN ADS OF
APRIL 2, 1884
XIII. Some Organizations
RIENDSHIP Lodge No. 247, F. &
A. M., was chartered in 1850 and
has moved its quarters several
<*-V„ ■> times. For about eighteen months
in 1858-59, it moved to Covington. In 1860
it returned to Mansfield. About 18G3 it met
in what is now the Erie Freight building,
then the Station. From 1870-1882 it was in
the Cigar Factory. From 1882-89 it was in
54 N. Main Street. From 1889-95 it was over
the Kingsley Shoe Store, then over the
Kohler Hardware to 1920, then over 3 N.
Main Street to 1940 and since then over
23 N. Main Street.
The Grand Army of the Republic was or-
ganized in 1875 and met at first over the
M. L. Clark store. In 18S6 it moved to the
Pitts Block and in 1893 to the Allen Block
where it remained until it disbanded.
The Independent Order of Odd Fellows
was organized in 1889. Until 19l4 the Lodge
met in the Pitts Block. At that time it
moved to its present quarters in the Bank
The Universalist Church congregation of
twelve members organized in 1880 and for
many years was served by Rev. Emma Bai-
ley, 1882-87 and 1890-95. They met first on
the second floor of the Bank Block over the
drug store, but purchased the old Methodist
property, corner of W. Elmira and N. Main
Streets, in 1882 and worshipped there until
1926 when the property was taken over by
the Seventh Day Adventists.
The Tioga Valley Grange was started in
1890 and met at first in Pitts Hall. In 1894
it moved to the Allen Block. In 1910 the
land was bought and in 1917 the present
Grange Building was built.
The Lions Club in Mansfield was char-
tered in 1939 and has been very active in
promoting community and charitable
causes, especially the swimming pool and
recreational projects, Polio drives, etc.
The State Police established a headquar-
ters here as early as 1925 over Husted's
Chevrolet Garage. Ralph Day was the first
Trooper assigned here. Their headquarters
were changed frequently at first, being lo-
cated a year or two each at 131, 116, 217
S. Main Street. In 1930 they moved to 55
N. Main Street and remained there until,
in 1954, a home for the unit was built at
300 S. Main Street.
The Business Men's Association
The Mansfield Business Men's Associa-
tion is composed not only of business men,
but also includes teachers, preachers, far-
mers, professional men, and, in fact, any-
one concerned with the civic needs of Mans-
field and vicinity. Neither membership nor
activities are limited.
The organization was formed in 1913 by
progressive citizens who felt that much
more could be accomplished in the way of
borough improvements through an organiza-
tion. The main objectives at the beginning
were improved roads in the borough and
hard-top highways leading to and from
Mansfield. Howard Vosburg was the first
president, and was followed by Leon Baynes
and others. It was revitalized after the war
and Herbert Peterson was president for
several years. More recently Oscar Lutes
was president for several years.
It would be difficult to list all the ac-
complishments of the Association, but the
following are the more important which
have been initiated or sponsored:
Main Street pavement; Pickle Hill and
Newtown Hill macadam roads; present
Route 6 to Wellsboro, saving several miles
over the old road by Richards Bridge; de-
velopment and improvement of both Routes
6 and 15; uniforms for the High School
Band; substantial funds for the College
Athletic program; lobbying successfully
several times against moves to close the
college by legislative committees; pavilion
at Smythe Park for campers; summer play-
ground at Smythe Park; Christmas Street
decorations; Halloween Parade; Fourth of
July celebration; securing Carnegie Lib-
rary; securing the State Armory; first mo-
tor Fire Engine and Pumper; Memorial
For several years, and at present the one
principal objective of the Association has
been to attract new industry to Mansfield.
Some results have been achieved. Armco
Iron, a nationally known industry has es-
tablished a plant here. It will ever be the
prime aim of the Association to be on the
alert for, and to promote, that which is in
the best interests of the community.
The American Legion
Following preliminary meetings held late
in IS 19, Austin-Cox Post No. 478 was form-
ally organized and a charter granted in
January, 1920. The Post was named in
memory of Gerald Austin and John Cox
who lost their lives while in the Service.
The Charter Members were: Herbert
Peterson, Donald Hoard, Ransom Keeney,
John Doane, Harry Taylor, Robert Palmer,
Harold Strait. John Hatfield, Fay Kilgore,
Guy Brown. Charles Ross, Anson Smith,
Ronald Kichline, Casper Gillette, Wade
At first, meetings were held in the Red
Cross Rooms over Strait's Hardware. For
a short period a room in the Borough build-
ing was used as headquarters. Then, for
about thirty years, the Post occupied the
third floor of the Judge Block. In 1952 the
present American Legion Home, located on
the corner of College Avenue and S. Main
Street was acquired. This is a fine proper-
ty, conveniently located, and will be a
permanent home and headquarters.
Membership in the Post is comprised of
veterans from Mansfield, Covington, Maines-
burg and the surrounding Townships.
The Post has been active since the begin-
ning in sponsoring or participating in com-
munity betterment, recreation and educa-
tion. It has been loyally supported in all of
its activities by the American Legion Aux-
iliary. Among some of the better known
projects of the Legion have been:
Purchase and installation of the original
boulevard lights at the corners of Main and
Purchase, installation and maintenance
of the original children's playground equip-
ment at Smythe Park, and provided for the
employment of supervisors of the play-
Conducted the Fourth of July celebration
and Memorial Day exercises for many
Awarded medals annually to outstanding
students in the local schools.
Junior League Baseball and, at various
times. Boy Scout Troops.
The Post has supported the continuing
activities of the National Organization for
proper care, hospitalization and rehabilita-
tion of disabled veterans, child welfare, ed-
ucation and adequate national defense.
The Fire Department
The earlier Hose Companies have been
mentioned in the periods in which they
were active. Beginning about 1906 the Cit-
izens Hose Company was formed, the older
companies having become inactive. The
only records up to 1914 are those dealing
with the annual New Years parties and the
use of the social rooms. From 1914 to 1917,
when the company was reorganized, min-
utes are available. Robert Crossley was
president in 1914 and Earl Shaw, secretary-
Earl was also secretary of the Mansfield
Hose Company most of the time until 1950,
over thirty years of service. The Citizens
Hose Company was active in the Fireman's
Association and competed regularly in the
events at the regional meetings of the
Association, wearing distinctive uniforms.
In January. 1921, the American Legion
planned to start a second Hose Company.
The Citizens Hose Company thought this
was unnecessary and proposed a merger of
the proposed company with the old com-
pany. This idea prevailed and twenty-six
interested citizens formed the new organi-
zation with the name, "Mansfield Hose
Company," with Dr. H. C. Kutz as presi-
dent and W. R. Avery as chief. This Com-
pany is still very active and has rendered
wonderful service to the community with-
out any reward other than the respect and
support of the citizens.
In July, 192G, the minutes contain men-
tion of agitation for the purchase of a
pumper. Later that summer, a Carnival was
sponsored and $150.00 cleared. In March
of 1927 a Bazaar was held in the Grange
Hall. The proceeds of this, together with a
donation of $1,000.00 from the college and
many others from merchants and citizens,
more than paid for the first pumper. In
August of 1934 an auxiliary fire truck was
purchased by the Companv from the city
of Lyons for $375.00. In 1946 and in 1956
new pumpers were bought by the Council.
The efficiency of the Company brought
about a considerable reduction in fire in-
surance rates in the Borough. The mem-
bers of the Company have attended schools
of instruction and demonstrations. An aux-
iliary fire police unit ia very efficient. With-
in the past two years a short wave radio
system has been put in operation through-
out the County and mutual aid plans work-
ed out with the neighboring communities.
All Mansfield equipment is a part of this
system. In 1956 a tank truck has been pur-
chased for use in fires outside the Borough.
These townships pay regularly for fire pro-
tection. The Borough Council supports the
Company in every way possible.
The two oldest Women's Clubs in Mans-
field are the Columbian Literary Exchange
which was organized in 1892, and the Mans-
field Literary Club, organized in 1896.
These Clubs, together with the Outlook
Club and the Utopian Club which were or-
ganized considerably later, have been ac-
tive in promoting civic welfare through
their civic committees.
AMERICAN LEGION HOME, 1951
MODEL SCHOOL, 1914
NATIONAL GUARD ARMORY
AIR VIEW OF COLLEGE